We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Chinese Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Dynasty Chinese Restaurant

Crystal Dynasty Chinese Restaurant
94 Cannon Street West, Hamilton, Ontario L8R 2B6, Canada (Downtown Hamilton)
905-308-8208
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 946 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: Downtown Hamilton
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown Hamilton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Chinese Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Went for dinner with friends here last night and had a fantastic meal! The salty shrimp was the highlight of the meal. I could have eaten another 5 plates of those! Service was great, food came out as it was ready, steaming hot, crisp vegetables and very flavourful. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad Dim Sum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Came here for dim sum in the summer and everything I ate tasted bad. As far as I could tell, it was bad-tasting frozen dim sum that they unfreeze when you order. There are some frozen dim sum that actually taste OK after you steam it, but don't expect it here... Not that I really want to have frozen dim sum when going to a restaurant to eat anyway. Again, I don't actually know if it was frozen dim sum but the steamed B.B.Q pork bun certainly gave me that impression. Besides the poor quality of the dim sum, I couldn't find some of my favourites (such as egg tarts), so the selection is limited as well.

This review reflects solely on their dim sum and not their other dishes, which I have not tried.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

If your looking for great Chinese food this is the place to go! Do no be fooled by the ambiance. The decor is certainly nothing to write home about. The staff are O;K I have eaten here every week for a year! Try the chicken with Cashew Nut and mixed vegetables. is one of the best dishes I have ever had. !

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Eat hardy - bring a bunch home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Staff prepares genuine Chinese dishes - on a comprehensive menu - and I get confused! So you must ask for help, and they will definitively tell you what is great, and not so much. Servings are very generous, dishes mostly contain solid blends of vegetables and meats, excellently seasoned, great variety. This is not pretentious, nor bright red and plastic - it's real!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing dim sum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Being cantonese we have eaten a lot of dim sum and wanted to find a new place in Hamilton. Sadly this certainly was not the place.
Although they have authentic dim sum dishes, they did not appear to be very fresh. Even the simplest dim sum dishes, such as turnip cake and cheung fan were dry and the latter being served cold and without the soy sauce.
Furthermore the place seemed very slow and understaffed. Interior needs to be updated quite a lot.
Hope this is not a reflection of what the dinner dishes are like, we looked at the menu and they have a lot of authentic dishes on offer, but just pass on the dim sum.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Dynasty Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Dynasty Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Dynasty Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.