We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1224 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C3B1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

A nice new Courtyard located up over the escarpment from downtown Hamilton. It must only be a few years old as everything is new and seems to reflect the room and hotel design of the newer Marriott properties.

It is clean and tidy, Our room was spacious. Staff was helpful and friendly, but then all we needed to do was check in and check out.

No complaints. Now if they only threw in a complementary breakfast it would be ideal!

  • Liked — nice rooms
  • Disliked — slightly out-of-the-way location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    72
    21
    6
    10
See reviews for
49
33
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We were very pleased with this hotel. Rooms are nice and large. Entire hotel was in good shape and clean. Free wi-fi is a nice plus. The lobby is attractive, parking is available and staff was helpful. Breakfast was adequate as well. Only issue we had was no cribs for our infant daughter. Out of the entire hotel they only had two cribs! Would have been a 5-star if not for that.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

We were going to Hamilton for the first time to visit family. We got a great deal on Priceline.co for the Marriott Courtyard. Good location off the highway. Staff upon check-in very friendly and helpful.
Room was quaint and clean, LOVED the free internet in the room for my laptop. What a bonus.
The bathroom was large. Loved the "mini bar" with fridge. A microwave would have been even better. Coffee maker worked well but more than one coffee sample would have been nice for my fiance to also have coffee! My fiance as a surprise, had fruit and wine brought up for our arrival at the room - nice gesture that the hotel would do this but the fruit was soggy. They did reverse the fruit charge.
The bed was harder than I thought it would be - be prepared for this!
The indoor pool was freezing and we could not swim in it. The hot tub was barely lukewarm, to cold to stay in and relax.
Breakfast should be included, we did not pay for this.
The restaurants next door, Turtle Jacks and Keg were both disappointing (staff and cleanliness)
All in all, good value but I would not want to pay $140 a night here as it is advertised!

  • Liked — Free Internet in room
  • Disliked — Pool, hot tub, hard bed, surrounding eateries
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

Just returned from a trip to Toronto and Hamilton. Hamilton is a great alternative to staying in Toronto. Much easier to navigate, and still close to great attractions like Niagara Falls and African Lion Safari. And Hamilton airport is awesome for those not accustomed to big airports.
The hotel is pretty new, and everything was clean and in good order. Beds were very comfortable. Only minor complaint with the room is that it would have been nice to have an extra easy chair or a small couch.
Hotel was nice and quiet--no noise to bother us at night. The courtyard was very pleasant. The pool is fairly small, but our family had it all to ourselves whenever we wanted it so that was not an issue.
A complimentary continental breakfast would have been nice--we hate buffets and that's what they push. No restaurant service other than breakfast.
Staff were all professional and courteous.
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay, and if ever in the area again would absolutely go back.

  • Liked — Great location, new and clean, quiet and comfy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

Hotel staff were very welcoming. Room was clean and had all amenities necessary for a short business trip. Internet connection fast and efficient, nice comfy bed. Breakfast was very good with a nice choice. Location is good to access major highways. Would recommend.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — bar closes at 10
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

This hotel was brillient, although it does not advertise it on its website we picked this one because it had a shuttle bus to and from the airport and into down town Hamilton.

It was imperitive that I found a comforatable, quiet, friendly, safe, clean hotel as we had my granny with us who was going on to Ottawa the next day. Therefore we needed easy access around the hotel and reliable transport for her. Quite simply the hotel meat all of her needs.

Luckly she was not feeling hungry but if she had we would not have been able to provide her with a properly cooked nutricious meal. So me and my partner went to the bar next door to grab something whilst granny slept.

Granny was really impressed by this hotel and vowed that she would definatly want to come back. I would also use this hotel again as I was really impressed by the shuttle bus (which was a god send to us).

Bear in mind it is about a 10 min drive to the airport and 15 mins in to downtown Hamilton. For Transit passangers at the airport this is an ideal hotel for a comfy nights sleep even Granny would agree.

  • Liked — It does what it says on the tin!!
  • Disliked — No room service available
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

We were stuck in Hamilton by surprise for two nights when my husband suddenly came down with the stomach flu as we were passing through. It was a pleasant stay even though we would not have chosen to be there.

The front desk staff were not especially friendly, screwed up a movie charge at one point and didn't seem concerned, and we had to argue a bit to get it taken off.

The cleaning staff were really nice though, and everything was sparkling clean. The room was extraordinarily comfortable, with a huge bed, a nice big bathroom, and a sofa. Lots of room. Everything well appointed and all linens, etc., impeccably clean.

No room service. The hotel "mini-market" is very spartan, with a few frozen food items, mostly just snacks like potato chips, and ridiculously high prices. The room fridge was big enough for some grocery items, and there was a microwave near the "mini-market" we could use to heat things up even if we bought them elsewhere. If you have a car, go to the big grocery store a few blocks away, I forget now what it was called. I was able to buy jello, disposable dishes, Gatorade, etc., as well as groceries, to feed myself and keep my poor sick husband pretty comfortable. They serve a minimal breakfast downstairs that I never sampled, but I think it was mainly just eggs and cereal.

There are computers in the lobby and it was free to use the internet, fee only if you needed to print.

This hotel was convenient for getting on the freeway to Toronto when he finally felt better.

One of the more comfortable hotel rooms we've ever stayed in, and a nice surprise when we were forced to make an emergency detour. Recommended.

  • Liked — Wonderful, large room and such a comfortable bed, endorsed by my husband who lay in it for days straight
  • Disliked — No big criticism. Wish we hadn't had to stay there, but that's not their fault.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton

Address: 1224 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C3B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Orbitz so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Courtyard Hamilton
Hamilton Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Hamilton Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.