We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard Hamilton-Nice-Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1224 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C3B1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Courtyard Hamilton-Nice-Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We needed a hotel, centrally located for a family emergency. The Courtyard Hamilton was chosen just by chance. We are so very pleased with the hotel. Greeted cheerfully by all the employees, daily, rooms are clean, roomy, and well cared for. Relaxing by fireplace, reading a free newspaper, was just what we needed. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
WeLoveFlorida100h,
Thank you for your kind review. We hope all is well with the family, and we appreciate you staying with us at Courtyard. I'm pleased to hear that we were able to provide a quiet, comfortable place for you to rest. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated, and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    72
    21
    6
    10
See reviews for
49
33
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Find a better price through priceline or expedia. We needed a one night stay and got a very good rate through priceline.

The restaurant is a bit pricey. However, the location of the hotel is close to many sit down and fast food places inside a 10 minute drive.

The standard room was nicely decorated with ample room for 4 adults. Beds are comfy with above average bedding. Decent sized washroom that never made you feel cramped for space.

Location is not downtown, which might not be attractive to some people.

Room Tip: When choosing a room, ask for one that faces the courtyard (better view, quieter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
wildkard,
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us at Courtyard. We appreciate you choosing our hotel, and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm glad to hear that you liked our property and clean, spacious rooms. Please visit us again. Safe travels.
Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The room set up was different from any hotel I've ever seen. It was very nice, but with one fatal flaw... You could barely see the TV from the bed. It was tucked behind something. I would definitely stay her again. It was a $20 can ride to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Mpriester,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you chose to stay with us at Courtyard. I'm pleased to hear that you had a nice, pleasant stay with us. Please plan to visit us again the next time you're in Hamilton.
Sincerely,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a weekend dance competition and found the rooms to be spacious, comfortable and very clean. Parking was also free. The per-night rate was a bit pricey but I reserved the rate that did include breakfast for 4. (just $10 extra). The hotel is located in a newer section of the city, near Mohawk College and away from the downtown core (which is still only 10 minutes away). Other dance parents staying at hotels downtown found them to have smallish room, ours was perfect for getting 2 kids ready for performance. The front desk staff was very helpful as were the people working in the breakfast buffet (the food and selection of offerings were both very good). The pool and hot tub were a nice perk for the kids, although they complained the pool was too cold (we asked if the heat could be increased and it was better the second day). Many nearby restaurants available for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Mike40Toronto,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your experience with us at Courtyard. We're delighted to have had you and your family stay with us. I'm glad you liked our spacious rooms and found time to enjoy the pool and hot tub. Please plan to visit us again should your dance travels bring you back to Hamilton.
Sincerely,
Brian Lubbers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great plan B hotel for visiting family. Requested quietest room available in the category I reserved and got it. Room was clean and well kept. Bed comfortable. If they offered free breakfast, hotel could really be a great contender and maybe inch up to #1 or #2 in Hamilton Hotels ratings scale.

Free parking is good given the area. The downtown Hamilton hotels charge parking, which is absurd.

Overall a hassle-free stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
edmbaby,
Thank you for your review. We're very glad to hear from you and especially hear that you had a hassle-free stay. I'm glad you liked our property as well as our clean, quiet rooms. Your compliments are well received. Please plan to visit us again. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here while visiting friends in Dundas at Christmas. Nice property, although location is not very appealing, between a cemetery and a car dealership on a long street of strip malls and chain restaurants. Staff were very friendly and changed our room quickly when we discovered it was noisy close to the elevator. There is a little outdoor garden/patio that looks like it would be lovely in nice weather. Room clean and comfortable, small pool and workout room. One disappointment was the ridiculous price of the breakfast - we went elsewhere to eat. All in all a comfortable place to stay in Hamilton.

Room Tip: away from elevators - maids stock their carts there too and ice machines are there can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
JustAskMe27,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while visiting nearby friends. I'm glad our staff was helpful and you had a nice, comfortable visit. Should your travels bring you back to our area, please visit us again.
Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Was there for business from a Monday till Friday. The room was decent, clean. The blinds were solid for I do not like any outside light to come in. It was quiet. The setup of the room was odd for me, but only because I like to watch TV while in bed. The TV was on the desk and 90 degree from it is the bed with a big closet next to it so, the angle wasn't ideal. The Bathroom was good, good water pressure. It was quiet during my stay. Parking was good. Coffee maker in the room which is a must for me. Breakfast buffet was adequate with eggs and potatoes and various meats. Plenty of drug stores and walmart and grocery stores in the area. There is a small fridge in the room with you can store some drinks in it. The internet was very good, wireless and wired were available and they had the cable for you in the room. All in all, I can't complain. Service was nice too. Oh, business center downstairs was also decent which was helpful for my printing needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Basil E,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to have had you as our guest, and we're delighted to know that you had a pleasant visit. I'm glad you liked our comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast. We hope you'll have another opportunity to stay with us the next time you visit Hamilton.
Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton

Address: 1224 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C3B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Courtyard Hamilton
Hamilton Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Hamilton Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.