We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets the job done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Visitors Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Visitors Inn to your Saves list
Visitors Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   649 Main Street West, Hamilton, Ontario L8S1A2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gets the job done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is basic but the rooms are very generous. They are spacious, clean and well lit. The guests always seemed to be in a good mood. Its location is conveniently on the bus route and close to westdale and several restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    49
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
32
18
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Rooms are surprisingly luxurious with big, fluffy down comforters. Newly remodeled inside, so everything is very clean. Staff is very nice and accommodating (they had a room ready for me to check in to at 8:30 am). The included breakfast is more than adequate (cereal, toast, pastries, fresh fruit, juices, coffee). No problems connecting to WiFi. There is a bus stop right outside, but not too much else near by. McMaster University is a good 30 minute walk away, same for downtown Hamilton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and deceptively luxurious. At first glance it appears to be on the older side and the outside is reminiscent of a lower value chain hotel (with all due respect thunk Quality Inn or something similar). The rooms however are recently renovated and contemporary and quite nice. I didn't have time to explore the city so I m not sure how convenient it's location is but there is a small strip mall that has MacDonalds, Tim Hortons and a pharmacy within walking distance.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed the last 2 nights at the Visitors Inn. We had a unit on the first floor with a small kitchenette. We were able to save money by preparing 2 meals a day in our room. The room was clean and quiet, as usual. There were 2 comfy double beds, internet access, a table with 2 chairs and a large flat-screen tv. We made use of the small gym, the indoor pool, the hot tub and the sauna. The Inn is located between 2 busy thoroughfares, Main St W in Hamilton and Highway 403. There is some road noise no matter what side of the Inn your room is on. Every room at the Inn is in the process of being renovated, 3 rooms at a time. This should be finished by early May.The help from the front desk was friendly and effective. We needed help in getting a cab quickly and they got one for us. Thanks Danielle. We feel that we got very good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Visitors Inn in Hamilton a number of times, and have always ben impressed with the staff, and overall value of this hotel. It is very close to Mc Master University, and I would highly recommend it. A car is needed as there is very little in walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic little hotel, right where we wanted to be in Hamilton, close to family for Christmas!
The decor and furnishings are a little dated, but everything is clean and tidy and the staff are very friendly and accommodating

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We arrived late from Toronto and was greated very friendly and even called us by name. We were booked for a couple week stay as we had to visit McMaster's Hospital to see a specialist. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating with any requests. We didn't use the pool or hottub but looked very clean and inviting. Small gym room was great for a quick workout. We only ate a couple of times at the restaurant and the food was good and the price seemed standard. Would reccommend this hotel. The staff made it very inviting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Visitors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visitors Inn

Address: 649 Main Street West, Hamilton, Ontario L8S1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visitors Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Luxurious and affordable". Our array of exceptional accommodations includes 60 tastefully appointed guest rooms featuring all queen and king size beds, Kitchenette rooms, and Special Jacuzzi Suites. An extensive list of in-room amenities including: Flat Screen TV’s, cordless telephones, FREE high speed internet, individually controlled heat/AC units, coffee makers, irons & ironing boards, fridges, mini-bars, cable & satellite TV, free local calls, personal safes, hairdryers, alarm clock radios, complimentary newspapers and more. Unwind, relax and enjoy our beautiful indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, and exercise room. Other features include the VIP restaurant, Conference facilities, and plenty of free parking. Conveniently located minutes from McMaster University/Hospital, and Downtown Hamilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Visitors Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visitors Hotel Hamilton
Visitors Inn Hamilton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Visitors Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.