We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J Anthony Grille & Catering

J Anthony Grille & Catering
291 Queenston Rd., Hamilton, Ontario L8K 1H1, Canada
289-389-1501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 946 Restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Caribbean, French, Italian, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: At J Anthony Grille & Catering, our goal is to provide you with “simply the best” restaurant/catering experience possible. We use fresh ingredients and present them with a creative flair that will make your event & dining experience memorable.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolute excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have become regulars at this restaurant. The service, food preparation, price and ambience are all 5 star. The Sunday brunch is second to none. We love this restaurant,and whenever we get the urge to go to The Keg, we will instead go to J Anthony!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This resto is very non-descript looking from the outside and way off the beaten path. Inside, the picture looks up but it's still not fancy in decor - perfectly acceptable however. Virtually everything else, from the service to the menu to the food quality is top notch - and at extremely reasonable prices. Wine list is not long but most expensive bottle is under $30. Waiter knew his wines well and reco'd a nice Zin blend from Cupcake Winery in California. Menu has a nice assortment of soups, salads and tapas if one is in the mood; otherwise there were about 8-10 entrees to choose from (three fish), including the fish and meat specials of the night. We both had the Mushroom Bisque which was to die for. As an app, we shared the Jerk Chicken skewers which were still moist having been marinaded in a sweet-spicey sauce that came with a very complimentary pineapple salsa. Chef is from Jamaica but was French trained and the menu reflects that. My friend's entree was the Salmon and mine was Catfish Almandine. Both were generous servings, very tasty. Nicely presented toom along with a perfectly cooked vegetable medley and Potatos au Gratin. There is also a good selection of desserts - our Creme Brulee was delicious. All in all, well worth the drive. Probably the best resto in that part of Hamilton and among the top in the city. Our only complaints - wine could have been a tad cooler and the "elevator" radio music was not to our liking. Will definitely return

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Treat yourself before you can't, "TOO GOOD ! "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Saturday evening we had reservations at J Anthony Grille in Hamilton.
We are getting away for the usual places because it all tastes the same no matter where you go.

May I say it was a great experience, the waiter was attentive put not pushy, the food
(because I could see the Chef inspecting every dish being served ) took awhile to arrive, gave us ample time to talk to the guests at our table.
The food is a worldly affair... French, Caribbean, and Italian cuisine. Soups, salads, a mixture of tapas that could be your main course. Steaks, seafood and pasta dishes that are top class, but not priced like it!
I can tell that it will soon be hard to get reservations for weekend dining!
Treat yourself to their excellence.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good food, nice atomosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went to j.Anthony on a Saturday night. There were 6 of us. The food was good. I started with the signature salad. It was tasty however needed more dressing. Others ordered soup and said it was very good. I ordered the salmon for my main course and it was awesome. The best tasting salmon i had ever tasted. It was very reasonable at $16.00. The portion size was ok... not huge but just enough to satisfy.

My friends had the other fish and unfortunately theirs was not as good. Two said it was overcooked and the other one said it was way to salty. I love salty and i tasted it and it was too salty for me too. The flavors however were very good they said... just overdone. I told them to send it back but no one wanted too. I then ordered the creme brule. This was good... nice and creamy but i like warm creme brule and it was cold.

Over all a good experience and even though not everyone was totally satisfied with their meals....we said we would give it another try. Maybe it was just an "off" day for the chef.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great eatery with excellent variety and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went to J Anthony around 8 on a Saturday night and had a great meal. A party of four, we all tried different salads and then had tapas. Did not disappoint, interesting variety of food, all good AND excellent service. Parking is around the back. Very interested in going back for the brunch. Great job!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Anthony Grille & Catering also viewed

 

Been to J Anthony Grille & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Anthony Grille & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.