We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very low price, pretty sketchy part of town, not all THAT bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn 2000

Budget Inn 2000
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Budget Inn 2000 to your Saves list
Budget Inn 2000
737 E King St, Hamilton, Ontario L8M1A4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very low price, pretty sketchy part of town, not all THAT bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here labour day weekend 2012 and I was shown two different rooms, the queen bed room, and the king bed room. The one with the queen sized bed I felt was very out dated and small, which was $75/nite. The king sized room was $85/nite. I was actually impressed with the King Sized room(Room 115). They clearly have put in an effort to get the room looking good with upgraded bathroom, laminate flooring, lighting, fresh paint. I found the bed a little hard, but it did the job. The biggest thing that bugged me was the part of town the motel was in. VERY Sketchy area. My wife and I watched a prostitute(we think, but we don't judge) walk out when we arrived around 2:00am and the next morning some lady was complaining to me about her room smelling like pee, the manager refused to give her my room.

The room was clean, the A/C worked eventho it was a little slow, no weird smells/sounds, pressed sheets were nice.

If you're looking to save a buck and just get a nite's rest when other nicer hotels are booked up, I would say stay here in room 115, it wasn't that bad. The front desk was very nice to me as well, they took a $20 deposit @ checkin, and they gave it back tome the next morning in cash.

Room Tip: I would ask for room 115. It was the nicest room in the motel, I'm sure. Remove any items from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A cheap hotel in a great location. A buddy and I booked this when we went to a football game. Looked at all the reviews, and knew what we were getting into. What the heck, it's cheap, good location for bars, kinda clean, and staff was friendly. Note; don't bring your significant other here, it's a guy place to crash. Personally if I brought my wife, she wouldn'y have got of the car:)

Room Tip: Check out your room first. Maybe get one over the parking lot so you can keep an eye on your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Picture on internet not what actually looks like from outside. Curtains on windows ripped. Looks like a dump actually not like the pictures on internet. When I booked they told me there was no cancellation fee. When I cancelled they charged me the full price of my room and I cancelled at 2:30 p.m. on that day. I couldnt stay there after seeing the building from the outside. They say that cancellation policy is on website but have looked an not.

Room Tip: Super 8 on Upper James - reasonable price - good service, exceptionally clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Check-in was smooth. Staff were friendly. I like the fact you can get snacks and beverages at the front desk. The room was clean although dated. I think they (rooms) could use a good remodel. The room smelled of cigarette smoke although I don't believe anyone has smoked in there for a while. The hotel is convenient to downtown and there's a bus stop right outside if you want to leave your car behind.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed there back in 2010 it was my frist time going to hamilton ont. So my friends told me about this place went there for 2nights with friends and the place is all right if u don,t have much money . But when I got in the room the place was clen and there was a fight in the hall way . I would say for a frist time in hamilton it was ok but I would say there agane b.c it,s the cheaps place to say if u don,t have much money.The front stuff help me out alot when i need it .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We were in town for a concert at Copps Coliseum, this location was good, cab ride less than 10 bucks. Anything close to Copps was $150 plus, this hotel was $85 taxes in.
We wanted to party a bit and be able to smoke in the room, this was our place.
Don't come here with your family or girlfriend, but if you want a place to crash and have a few drinks with friends this works great.
Fridge and microwave worked great, no issues with anything in the room.
Even had free internet, also free parking.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

stayed there cause it was there close i guess i could say i didnt expect to see anything so run down we had an extra mattress against the wall seen street walkers in the hall way the guys at the front desk were drinking we got into the room and we were gonna watch tv they said we had cable but only got 1 channel which had only porn i was disgusted and embarresed to be seen walking out of there

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn 2000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn 2000

Address: 737 E King St, Hamilton, Ontario L8M1A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Inn 2000 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn 2000 Hotel Hamilton
Budget Hotel Hamilton
Budget Inn 2000 Hamilton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn 2000, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.