We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn 2000

Save Saved
You added Budget Inn 2000 to your Saves list
Budget Inn 2000
Budget Inn 2000
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Budget Inn 2000
737 E King St, Hamilton, Ontario L8M1A4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Hamilton
Thorold, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Check-in was smooth. Staff were friendly. I like the fact you can get snacks and beverages at the front desk. The room was clean although dated. I think they (rooms) could use a good remodel. The room smelled of cigarette smoke although I don't believe anyone has smoked in there for a while. The hotel is convenient to downtown and there's a bus stop right outside if you want to leave your car behind.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napanee, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed there back in 2010 it was my frist time going to hamilton ont. So my friends told me about this place went there for 2nights with friends and the place is all right if u don,t have much money . But when I got in the room the place was clen and there was a fight in the hall way . I would say for a frist time in hamilton it was ok but I would say there agane b.c it,s the cheaps place to say if u don,t have much money.The front stuff help me out alot when i need it .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We were in town for a concert at Copps Coliseum, this location was good, cab ride less than 10 bucks. Anything close to Copps was $150 plus, this hotel was $85 taxes in.
We wanted to party a bit and be able to smoke in the room, this was our place.
Don't come here with your family or girlfriend, but if you want a place to crash and have a few drinks with friends this works great.
Fridge and microwave worked great, no issues with anything in the room.
Even had free internet, also free parking.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

stayed there cause it was there close i guess i could say i didnt expect to see anything so run down we had an extra mattress against the wall seen street walkers in the hall way the guys at the front desk were drinking we got into the room and we were gonna watch tv they said we had cable but only got 1 channel which had only porn i was disgusted and embarresed to be seen walking out of there

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

This motel should not be renting rooms to anyone. It needs to be renovated big time. The place is dirty, the beds uncomfortable, everything smells of smoke. We would never go back. The outside is littered with old BBQ and other stuff just laying around. It is a mess. If I was Budget Corp. I sure wouldn't put my name on this place.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — it was dirty and old
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We needed a place to stay overnight. We also needed to save money too. So, we went to the Budget. Looking at the motel from the outside you could tell something wasn't right. We spoke with the front desk people who seemed pretty spacey. We asked to see the room before giving any money which was a good thing because the room was small, dark and very dirty. There were cigarette burn holes in the carpets and bedding. There was crusty white stuff on the linen and blankets. We bumped into a few ladies in waitng and there was someone crouched in staircase. Very creepy. We took off fast and went elsewhere. Please whatever you do, dish out a little extra coin and find something else. Don't waste your time even thinking about this motel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

We were going to stay there in 2005. We paid, got in the room and it was the most disgusting thing I've ever seen. First it was hot, so I went to turn on the AC, hmm, didn't work. Noticed a window unit, didn't work either....went to see if it was plugged in and there was no plug, just wires sticking out.. Go to turn the light on (lamp), doesn't work, again, no plug, just wires. Go to turn on the bedside lamps that are mounted to the wall, no light bulbs. There is a refrigerator in the room, open it, it's warm with a half open 40oz of beer. Decide to look at the plug.... again, just wires.

Go to the bathroom, no shower curtain. The cupboard doors are falling off the hinges. The carpet is stained, and looked like dried blood.

I do not think that the second poster stayed in the same motel as myself or the first poster. This place was NASTY and should be shut down.

PS: if I happen to find the pictures I took, I will post them on here.

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn 2000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn 2000

Address: 737 E King St, Hamilton, Ontario L8M1A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Budget Inn 2000 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn 2000 Hotel Hamilton
Budget Hotel Hamilton
Budget Inn 2000 Hamilton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn 2000, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.