We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwich/burger joint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack and Lois

Jack and Lois
301 James Street North, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
289 389 5647
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 946 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Hamilton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great sandwich/burger joint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I came into jack n lois one night as I was looking for a late night place to eat with a girlfriend of mine. The whole front of the restaurant opens up which is so neat and that's what caught my eye. The waitress informed us some nights they are open til 3am!

The food was sooooo good!! I cant remember what it was called that I had cause I just ate what the server recommended but it had peameal and like 3 eggs, and avocado and this delicious sauce oh man was SOOOO Good!!!!! If anyone is looking for late night snack (haha I use the term snack loosely) then check out this place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Did the chef change?!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I had such great buzz about this place and so was shocked at how unremarkable and/or bad the food was.

I was expecting an interesting menu and instead saw a whole bunch of burgers and grilled cheese with absolutely nothing to get excited about. Unless you consider peameal bacon innovative. It was a diner menu.

This would be fine if things had been done well, but oh no, they were not. The 'Thai veg' soup was bath water with some heat. The slaw was undressed and boring, boring boring. The grilled cheese I ordered was decent but no better than any greasy spoon.

Service was good.

Perhaps I expected too much, but I just want to see hamiltons dining scene get better and thOught this could be from the new vanguard. Uh...no.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Heard the buzz about this restaurant so I took a few friends to check it out. Fabulous selection. My lunch was great. Can't wait to go back and try something else.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unique and good tastes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Small restaurant, but very good food. Daily dinner specials. Make sure you arrive early enough on the weekend for the breakfast special.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is one of my favourite restaurants of all time. Every time I go they always have awesome specials and never once have I not loved what I ordered. The prices are amazing for the food you get. The service is always super friendly! This place puts all chain restaurants to shame. Overall just amazing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack and Lois also viewed

Hamilton, Ontario
Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Jack and Lois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack and Lois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.