We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - a real find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West End Diner

West End Diner
1811 Main Street West, Hamilton, Ontario L8S 1H6, Canada
289-396-1766
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 943 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Sun City Center, Florida
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent - a real find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This little neighbourhood restaurant is a real gem. It is very nice inside and the service is friendly and efficient. Tremendous value, too. Especially if you can find something on the seniors menu. I had liver and onions which comes with a salad or soup, plus 2 side dishes (I chose mixed vegetables and a beautifully prepared baked potato), and even included coffee, tea, soft drink or tomato juice, all for under $9. My wife had a breakfast for dinner, and she was impressed that they made real homefries. Other people had "real" French Fries and large portions of fish and chips and souvlaki dinners.
We were really pleased with our meals and 2 meals for under $20 is hard to beat. The fact the meals were sensational was a nice bonus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great first visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've been driving past this place every day on the way to work since it opened; we were driving past again recently to go to a chain restaurant. My husband read the 'all day specials' sign and changed course. Really glad we did. Place was hopping -Wednesday at 530 pm - almost no tables. Good sign! Two of us had breakfast, other a Reuben sandwich. Service: prompt, efficient, friendly. Food: terrific. How long did it take - food came within minutes, piping hot and perfectly prepared. Oh, and the prices are very reasonable. No license to serve alcohol? Bet its coming, and with first rate diner food and service, it is really just 'gravy' to have that option. Oh yeah, and management stops by to ask how you're enjoying! wow.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We Need More of these Places!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I kept meaning to stop off for a bite to eat in this medium size restaurant for quite some time. We finally decided to do just that after a visit to Dundas.

The service was great right off the hop. Attentive, yet concerned about the goings on throughout the place, we were not left sitting very long before our order was taken. In an appropriate amount of time, one would guess, to prepare our order, we were served. Our wait staff, appropriately, about 4 or 5 minutes into the meal, checked to see if we required anything else and to see that our meal was as ordered.

The price point for all menu items is very good in terms of what you are served. The only thing I would suggest is that you stay away from side orders, e.g. coleslaw, as that will bring your price up expectantly, and to be quite frank, there is enough food served.

We will definitely make a return visit to this little, busy, thriving restaurant when in the area. Too bad they don't have one in the central or east end.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Good Place to Avoid Cooking at Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The diner is a clean and crisp looking place. It has an newish décor that suits the basic cookery served there. The washrooms are clean. The kitchen is open to see and two busy cooks work their culinary skills creating the various orders. A staff was eating a chicken salad; always a good sign.

The menu has all the usuals including Greek items. I had the Pea Meal Benedict and it was cooked properly. I liked the cheese sauce on the meat and English muffins. The coffee was a cut above with that little bit of after taste that makes it note worthy.

The diner is a good place to avoid cooking at home. If you’re traveling it is good food for any meal time. The location on Main West is a bit out of the way and the closest highway is the 403. Nearby is McMaster University and the Hamilton to Brantford Rail trail.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good, reasonably priced classic diner fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This restaurant has a huge menu covering all the diner classics, and then some. Breakfast is excellent, particularly the Eggs Benedict. Hearty portions, simple, quality food, for reasonable prices. Service is consistently excellent and fast. This restaurant is head and shoulders above other diners and breakfast places in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West End Diner also viewed

Hamilton, Ontario
Hamilton, Ontario
 
Hamilton, Ontario
Stoney Creek, Hamilton
 

Been to West End Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.