We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a MUST TRY if you like pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earth to Table Bread Bar

Earth to Table Bread Bar
258 Locke Street South, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
(905) 522-2999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 943 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ayr, Canada
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“This is a MUST TRY if you like pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stopped here at 2 PM on a Thursday afternoon and the place was packed. That should tell you everything you need to know.

Earth to Table has a wonderful, hip ambience and an open kitchen. It is the kind of restaurant I would return to over and over. And we'll do that next time we're in Hamilton.

We ordered an apple and bacon pizza. Apple and bacon!!! On a pizza! And it was wonderful. Plus, the pizza crust was one of the best I've ever tasted.

Although they were busy, service was prompt and very friendly.

Hamiltonians may not know it but they have a real gem here. We'll be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    41
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I hear the pizza here is terrific, and while I admire the selections coming out of the kitchen , I have not tried it yet!! The 3 times I have been there, I have chosen either the Mac N Cheese or the Soup and Sandwich combo. Just the right lunch portion, and sumptuous flavours for so reasonable a price !! For me it is like gourmet on a budget. I am pleased to learn that at least one of my lunch guests has returned with friends. Perhaps that is a better testimonial to the success of this eatery! Next time, I will be going for the pizza!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GREAT service, Mediocre Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was so excited to try this place after the rave reviews below. However, I was quite disappointed with the quality and taste of the food. We had the bread plate to start, and found the dips sort of bland. Then I ordered an autumn salad, but they were out, so opted for the quinoa salad instead. This was VERY VERY bland- there was no taste to it all. However, I simply mentioned to the waiter if I could get some dressing, or something to add to it, and he was fantastic. He offered another meal entirely, which I was very hesitant to do, b/c of all the fuss, but he was insistent. In the end I went with the apple bacon pizza, which was better, but like the reviews below, was VERY VERY oily.

Overall- I would not return b/c I did not enjoy the food, but will say their customer service is amazing!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Love This Place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My friend lived in the Locke Street area and when I went to visit her we always stopped here for lunch. It is in a quaint area with lots of shops and cafes.

It makes one of the best thin-crust pizzas that I have ever had!! The ingredients are always fresh and they try to use only local ingredients. You can definitely tell...the quality and taste are amazing. We also shared a delicious salad. I love their imagination when composing their dishes.

My friend has just moved from the area, but I will definitely make the effort to come from Stoney Creek to enjoy this fantastic restaurant. I am still craving that pizza!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“lunch with son”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Really better than avg lunch I had soup and salad, my son organic burger with fries. Mine was good, my son only ate half the burger . Didn't care it but really liked the fries. The quart of water was a nice touch as were the staff

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earth to Table Bread Bar also viewed

Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Earth to Table Bread Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earth to Table Bread Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.