We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding service!, The greatest hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Stonechurch Road East, Hamilton, Ontario L8W 3P9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
North Bay, Canada
1 review
“outstanding service!, The greatest hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We would like to acknowledge the best western premier C in Hamilton. We were warmly greeted at the front desk by Will, who was very informed with all the hotel procedures and made us feel very welcomed. We were impressed with the room décor and cleanliness. The general manager Linda took time out of her busy schedule to make sure we were satisfied with our room; and made sure we had everything we needed and more. She was a very warm person, made us feel welcomed and treated everyone as VIP's. Finally I had the opportunity to meet Debbie our floor house keeper. She was more than helpful in providing us with extra supplies in our room (i.e. towels,coffee,laundry bags, ect.)
In all it was our best hotel experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinm888, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review MargH58,

Our goal is to provide our guests with an experience not just another hotel stay. We thank you for your kind mention of our team members and hope you are able to visit us again.

Warmest Regards,

Joe Mercanti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    51
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
129
129
24
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the Easter long weekend (March 2013) because a friend of ours was getting married at the hotel's banquet facility. We had a "Mini Martini Suite" on the 3rd floor with a very comfy king-size bed, large bathroom with a rain shower head, flat screen tv, etc. It was excellent! The hotel's decor is very modern and chic, everything was extremely clean, no complaints whatsoever. The front desk staff were very courteous and the check-in/out process was a breeze. However, the only issue would be when we phoned to make a reservation. There is a 14-day advance rate available online but we phoned because the wedding couple told us there may be an additional group rate since a lot of their wedding guests were staying overnight. It turned out there was no group rate, but when we asked to book the 14-day rate, the rep on the phone said there is no such thing and gave me the regular price. I said that there is and I saw it online. He checked and again told me no. I said that our friends booked a room with that rate so it must be there. He checked yet again and then said, "oh yeah, it's here". I eventually got the rate I wanted but, if I had not pushed this rep on the phone, I would have just been suckered into paying the full price. So, just a heads up, do your homework about what the best available rates are! In addition to the 14-day advance booking rate, they also have a good CAA/AAA rate for auto club members.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is busy due to the rooftop area where wedding ceremonies are sometimes held.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinm888, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review trini_traveller08,

We are delighted over all you enjoyed your experience with us.

We apologise for the issues experienced with booking your rate with us. We have experienced some new members to our team which may have resulted in the rate clarity. We will take this feedback constructively and ensure our training practises are refreshed to ensure this doesn't happen in the future.

Regards,

Joe Mercanti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hamilton does not seem to have a ton of options for higher end hotels; however, this property did not disappoint us. We had a very spacious suite with a bathtub in the combined bedroom/living room area, right next to a beautiful fireplace. It was easy to imagine that we were off on a romantic vacation. The first room we checked into was, I'll admit, a big disappointment -- it smelled very obviously of cigarette smoke and there was a loud vibration coming from what I assume was the ventilation system in the wall. But I went right down to the front desk and the gentleman there promptly moved us to a room across the hall, which looked very nearly identical, smelled great, and was much less noisy. There was a wedding going on while we were there and we didn't hear a peep from the guests. Also, the on-site restaurant smelled DELICIOUS. I only wish we had time to try it. The fridges in the lobby were well stocked with reasonably priced drinks (including beer) and were a welcome treat. And I can't stress enough how much we appreciated the service from the front desk. There was only one person there and he handled everything beautifully. Really stand-out service. All in all, this was a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If your room is noisy or smells of cigarette smoke, don't settle! Be sure to notify the front de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinm888, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others robinmayToronto,

We are delighted you were able to stay with us and experience Hamilton's first luxury boutique hotel and Ontario's 1st Best Western Premier.

We do apologise for the room in which you first encountered. Our property is 100% smoke free and we therefore appreciated you bringing this to our attention so we could remidy the situation immediately and accomodate you quickly and efficiently.

We are delighted to know our strict enforced no noise policy in all public areas after 11:00 p.m. enabled a restful stay even with us hosting a wedding.

The DELICIOUS smells of Baci Ristorante are indeed wonderful and hope you get a chance to experience there authentic Italian cuisine on your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,

Joe Mercanti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

In the words of my 8 year old granddaughter. Stayed Mar. 24 to Mar 27 2013. We all loved our room which was #208. 2 King size beds one in each of the 2 bedrooms and sofabed in the livingroom/full kitchen, this is the extended room stay. 3 TVs 43" one in each room. The Master bedroom had 2 lounge chairs one on each side of the bed, dresser, and computer table and chair. The 2nd bedroom same little smaller becaus no lounge chairs. Our 2 year old Grandson lost in the King bed. Son slept one sofa bed in livingroom/kitchen so adults could stay up and enjoy evening together. Full Fridge, Full Stove, dishwasher (no dish tabs), microwave, sink, real dishes & silverware to use, (no towel & dishcloth) even a cheese grater
. Small table 4 chairs. Huge bathroom not a tiny squeeze. Safe in room. Daughter had operation and stayed with us, too. Husband home early Tues evening. Had to get our van fixed & visit our son, rolled into our stay. Staff awesome. Cost less than B.W. in Burlington for same time 2 Queens there, Could Stay further away but gas prices would bring up to what we could have payed somewhere else. Not been able to stay here before as fully booked usually for us. 3 egg omlette, potatoes & toast quite filling room service or resturant. Beds are quite comfy, but high to normal beds. Draw back we encountered asked for an extra $250.00 deposit to be returned if no damage, but Chris did wave it for us. Need to let know this up front to people. Pool was awesome indoor. Keruig Coffee in rooms and hallway complimentry for those that drink coffee. We expected like most hotels 1 bedroom, and other in same room as sofa. Click on their pictures and keep going and going to see rooms 40 -50 pics it seems then after video of rooms too. Quite reasonable for Sun. to Wed. Stay 3 nights of course all depends on season/days staying. Walk in shower different but enjoyed not bathtub to climb over much safer also hand rail to be sure of no fall. Lots of towels to use. Phone in each bedroom not in living room which seemed weird so mentioned in survey. Book of things to do in Hamilton for those needing info. Exta blanket and pillows in closet. We could not get over the beauty of this room. Not cramped space like most kids had own room to watch TV or with us, play there or with us. Had playing good time. Would love to stay here once again. Hope is available. Right off the Linc. Alexander and building is lite up with blue lights. Band from wedding could just barely here it on Sun. night but done at usual hour. Then heard nothing. If you feel a little expensive well worth the price for the luxury like I said 3 seperate rooms bathroom off hallway. Just a complete WOW ROOM!!!! Staff greet you on your way in and out unless busy with costumers, quite friendly. Will help in any way. pizza was ordered if payed for offered to bring up to us so didn't have to stay down waiting for delivery. Staff helped with anything they could.

Room Tip: 6 adults excellent room or children space to run around and no compaints about their noise beds are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinm888, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank your kindly for sharng your experience Susan M,

We were thrilled to read you all loved the Roma Suite and thoroughly had a wonderful experience in our luxury boutique hotel.

We do apologise for the standard hotel practice of a required deposit without a Credit Card. We do thank you for your appreciation of Chris our Night Manager who made a one time exception for you.

We hope you are able to visit us again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Joe Mercanti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Really nice decor -- modern, clean, bright, smells wonderful. The hallways are bright and colourful. Rooms are Italian themes -- interesting idea, but I found pictures of Joe Pesci on my wall a little disturbing --- especially in the bathroom! TVs in the elevator were a nice touch.

The ipod dock was nice as was the dvd player and movie in the room. Also the microwave and fridge were handy. Lots of little "extras" at this hotel.

Only two small complaints -- I miss having a bathtub (and since the shower door doesn't close, I found the shower cold) --- and the hotel was a little hard to find -- subtle is nice, but when it makes it difficult to locate, its not so nice. I don't know Hamilton very well, but the hotel seemed a little bit in the middle of nowhere.

The gentleman at the front desk was really kind and friendly!

Enjoyed my stay - recommend highly if you're in the Hamilton area. Fairly close to McMaster -- less than 20 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinm888, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review owl_wendy,

We appreciate your mentioning of our modern decor and all around clean property. Our designation "Premier" offers the highest of standards.

We are also glad to know you enjoyed the "extras" offered in all our rooms.

We are sorry to see your room choice for this visit was not one which included a bathtub; we hope you get another chance to visit us and are able to experience an alternate room which does. Please explore our website for a full view of our verying room styles to better assist you in your room selection at www.carmenshotel.com

Although we are only a short 10 minute drive to our downtown core please speak with any member of our team to assist you in finding attractions on the Hamilton Mountain; such as a wonderful nature hike on our trails or views of the cities many waterfalls including the closest one to our property (Albion Falls)

Regards,

Joe Mercanti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattice, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at a Best Western Hotel in Hamilton for three days from March 24 to March 26 . It was quite a relaxing stay. You really feel welcome when you walk in this hotel. The lobby is lovely: nice and cozy. The ambiance is great: music and lights. The room are so nice and clean. They have everything you need up to the i-pod deck. Decorating of the room is perfect and the king size bed very comfortable. The staff is very polite, friendly and efficient. I want to give a special thank you to Linda Lynch, the General Manager and Carlos who let me stay in the room up to 4h30 pm because I had to wait for my daughter-in law who was attending a convention. Without them I would have spent the afternoon waiting in the lobby. What great people!!! Keeping the client happy and comfortable.We really enjoyed our stay and we would come back anytime. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone. And there is a plus: we paid less than we usually do in hotel not as nice nor has enjoyable as this one. Our compliments to Carmen's Best Western

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinm888, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review Christine D,

We were happy to read you had a quiet and relaxing stay. I will pass on your special thank you to Linda Lynch our General Manager and Carlos for there recognised Customer Service.

We appreciate your high recommendation.

Sincerely,

Joe Mercanti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I would like to inform you of our recent stay at a Best Western Hotel in
Hamilton, Ontario.
Yesterday, Saturday, March 23, a friend & myself attended a wedding & as
guests of the wedding party we were booked into Carmen's Best Western in
Hamilton.

Best Western not only supplied a lovely suite but also offered outstanding
customer service. We were as graciously received at Carmen's as we were at
the wedding itself.
As we entered the reception area and front desk, a cake stand replete with
pastries and fresh fruit provided a pleasant and welcoming touch! On
registration we were greeted by a friendly young employee named Jeff who
obligingly reassigned our room so that we could be near the father of the
groom, our host.
The suite was attractive, spacious and tastefully decorated with a large
screen TV and two queen size beds affording us a comfortable night's sleep.
Adjacent to an immaculate bath was the added feature of a small bar with
amenities such as a microwave, sink and fridge. This convenience allowed us
the option of entertaining our guests without having to leave our hotel
room.

The Hotel Manager Ms. Linda Lynch, in response to some queries we had
concerning the reserved block for the wedding party, took the time to
clarify the arrangement and even sent a complimentary bottle of wine to our
room. She was highly professional and extremely accommodating in her
position as administrator.
It is indeed refreshing to find a supervisor so in tune with her patrons!
Overall it was a most gratifying and enjoyable experience.

Our compliments to Carmen's Best Western, Ms. Lynch and her exceptional
staff!


Joan Montgomery-Rose

Toronto, Ontario

Room Tip: We had one of the smaller rooms this stay and it was very spacious. However, the large suites with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinm888, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others on your recent stay at the Best Western Premier C Hotel by Carmen's.

We are delighted our availability permitted Jeff to be able to assign your room close to the Groom's Father per your request.
We are equally delighted you enjoyed and had a good nights sleep in one of our Deluxe Queen Bed mini Suites.

Our General Manager Linda Lynch will appreciate your kind mention of her and that you enjoyed the complimentary wine.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Joe Mercanti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's

Address: 1530 Stonechurch Road East, Hamilton, Ontario L8W 3P9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamilton's first luxury boutique hotel welcomes you! The BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel by Carmen's offers you the modern conveniences of home in a comfortable and classic setting. Your hotel experience will be enhanced as you embrace a touch of Italian culture. All of our rooms and suites are themed after Italian icons and cities including Frank Sinatra, Sophia Loren, Vince Lombardi, Leonardo Da Vinci, and Venice. Custom artwork featuring these personalities and cities define each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's Hamilton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER C Hotel By Carmen's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.