We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice Of (Southern) Heaven in Hamilton of All Places!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillbilly Heaven - CLOSED

Hillbilly Heaven
647 Upper James Street, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 2Y9, Canada
905 538 4525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Slice Of (Southern) Heaven in Hamilton of All Places!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

One of the things we miss about our years living in Georgia is good, authentic southern barbecue. I read about Hillbilly Heaven and the challenges they face hiring staff in today's paper. Intrigued, I checked out their website, and decided to give them a try. If I were looking for southern barbecue in this part of the world - Upper James Street in Hamilton is probably the last place I'd look. What a find!!

The food was fantastic - not at all like what I've come to expect at the big chains here in the north east. More along the lines of one of my favorites - Cafe Pig in Peachtree City, Georgia. I tried the pulled pork and half-rack of ribs, with baked beans and "extreme" green beans as sides. Heavenly! If you appreciate authentic southern barbecue, you know that it's not just about the food. Hillbilly Heaven has "personality"! Go for the food - but enjoy the whole experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    1
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Southern-style racism right here in Canada”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I stopped by Hillbilly Heaven today for lunch but couldn't get past the hate speech and racist signs posted on the door. Maybe it's part of the whole Southern shtick, but xenophobia & racism isn't funny, in the Southern US or in Southern Ontario. Food smelled good. Too bad.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you want to go out and eat meat. This is the place, the bbq is very good, I really liked the brisket. The side dishes were also very good, the deep fried extreme beans are fun and tasty.
The restaurant is clean and basic since take out is as big a part of their business as dine in. We ate in and had enough to take home for lunch the next day. It was great.
The hillbilly chilli fries and a drink would probably be enough for a meal for most people, me included.
I will go back any time I feel like BBQ.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I ordered this for delivery for the first time and I have to say I was very impressed... Everything tasted devine and I couldn't believe the portion sizes! HUGE enough to feed 2-3 people. I ordered the beef brisket, mac & cheese, coleslaw and fries.. about 14.00-15.00$ for that meal.. which is a pretty good deal.. Oh, and their sauce.... wow.

I'll be ordering here again! had to write this review after I ate, I usually don't write reviews at all ^_^

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“mmmmm good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

besides not being overly healthy, lots of deep fried stuff, it is an amazing place.... owner is super nice and menu is unique

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillbilly Heaven also viewed

Stoney Creek, Hamilton
 
Waterdown, Hamilton
Dundas, Hamilton
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillbilly Heaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.