We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome chicken and rice shawarma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lulu's Shawarma

Lulu's Shawarma
32 John St. North, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
(905) 521-4848
Improve this listing
Ranked #229 of 943 Restaurants in Hamilton
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
hamilton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“awesome chicken and rice shawarma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This place is great if you want cheap eats very quick, the food isn't completely authentic but its still delicious. I go here at least once a month and feel satisfied every time. You can easily feed 2 for under ten bucks. This place does not have a lot of space to eat as it is a really small restaurant and almost always is pretty busy so your better off getting your order to go. Also the menu is very simple so its easy to make a choice as to what you want. Parking can also be a slight issue but again the food is awesome and worth having to either pay for parking or parking up the block. I usually get the chicken and rice dish which comes with pita bread and salad, you don't get to choose what dressing you want which is a little disappointing but the vinaigrette dressing it comes with is okay. Also they do not offer tzatziki sauce instead they have a garlic sauce which is okay but a little bland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't be tricked into going here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We ordered take out from here after reading such positive reviews about the food, but we were disappointed. The hummus was grainy, and the pittas served with it were tiny. The shawarmas were terrible - I was born and raised in the Middle East, so I know what authentic Middle Eastern food tastes like. Their meat was not authentic at all, it should traditionally be cooked on a spit, but the meat they served had very obviously been marinated and then cooked in a pan or on the grill. The sauce inside the shawarma consisted of tahini with hot sauce, which was unpleasant, as traditionally the sauce should be tahini and thoum. Also, their servings were enormous! I can understand generosity of portions, but this bordered on ridiculous. There was enough meat in my sandwich for 3 sandwiches easily! The entire thing was literally falling apart, and I'm sure no one wants to eat THAT much chicken.

Overall, quite a disappointment and we will not be back. The only positive aspect was the price - 1 hummus and 2 chicken shawarmas for $16, which is a very decent price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Shawarmas, small place but nice people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food, one of the beat around! Although its a super small store that could use updating still a great place to grab a bite!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Shawarma and Falafel Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This restaurant has received AWARDS for the BEST SHAWARMA in Dwntwn Hamilton. Awards posted in their wall. Local neighborhood can attest to the awesome food the couple make and friendly service all year round.I have been dining this restaurant for years and never has failed to deliver great tasting fresh shawarma and falafel. A week is not complete for me without dropping by to get falafel and shawarma!!! :-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Worst Shawarma Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I didn't intend on reviewing this place, but I eat shawarma's regularly from fast food places in Scarbrough, downtown Toronto, and even had it in Montreal. This is by far the worst shawarma I ever had here. The whole shawarma was falling apart which is why they supplied it with the forks. The chicken didn't seem fresh. The service was quick though. It left a pretty bad taste in our mouth of what Hamilton has to offer in terms of middle eastern cuisine. Oh, we were relying on credit card for this trip - they don't accept it!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulu's Shawarma also viewed

 

Been to Lulu's Shawarma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lulu's Shawarma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.