We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 King Street East, Hamilton, Ontario L8N1B2, Canada (Formerly Ramada) (Downtown Hamilton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Hamilton
collingwood
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I had reserved a room for Saturday August 3 with my bestie online. We arrived around 1500, and were greeted at the front desk by Christine. She was wonderfully informative, friendly, and very accomodating with my requests for a room high up (We got top floor Room 809) and a late check out at 1400 the next day. (Christine had suggested to join a program offered by their select hotels that offer late check-out for members etc - this was great! Thanks!) The room was very nice and tidy, king bed and pillows very comfortable. Bathroom was well stocked with towels, my only concern or disappointment was that there are no rooms with mini fridges. So we had to improvise and use ice to fill the tub to keep our drinks cold. Worked great! We also went swimming in the hotel, and arrived at a very busy time. No fault of the hotel, but was packed with kids. Aside from that, the main pool was big and deep! Towels were gone by the time we got down to the pool area but house keeping was quick to bring down more towels for guests.
Overall, great experience, service, and staff! I would return again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
taylor82,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing feedback regarding your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Hamilton. I’m pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and felt well taken care of by our staff. I’ll make sure Christine is recognized with a special commendation for her outstanding service and warm hospitality. Your feedback is important to us so we’re happy to hear from you on areas we can improve our guest experience. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    31
    18
    16
See reviews for
41
28
21
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Considering your options in the Hamilton downtown area, the Crowne is the hotel I regularly return to when in the area. Staff are friendly and always remember my name and preferences. The rooms are sufficient and I always get a good sleep in the comfortable beds and linens. Location good to downtown services and restaurants all within walking distance. Pool area open again and it looks great!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Greg_07112,
We appreciate your return visit and complimentary feedback about your Crown Plaza Hotel experience. I’m pleased to hear you consistently enjoy a comfortable stay with us and find our friendly staff to accommodate your preferences during your visits. We value you as our guest and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Crown Plaza Hotel. Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My fiance and I decided for a night out on July 16th 2013 and chose the Crowne Plaza
Immediate reaction was that the hotel was top notch, absolutely beautifully maintained.
Very clean!!
Bed was huge, and extremely comfortable.
We had no problems what so ever!

That's not even what impressed us really, it was the woman at reception.
Her name is Dawn.... this woman KNOWS what she's doing, and deserves A LOT more than a job as a receptionist!
Every time we came back into the hotel, or noticed her somewhere else on the job she would always greet us with our names, a HUGE smile, amazing attitude.

No one had mentioned the pool was closed, BUT as we seemed a bit upset when she told us, she came up with an immediate solution... next time we stay, which she stated IN FRONT of her manager, she would upgrade us to a suite with a jacuzzi for the same price we paid for a standard king size bed room.

She directed us to an amazing Irish Pub right around the corner, she really did know her stuff, and really couldn't have been more amazing!

There is NO DOUBT we will stay here again... and it's all thanks to Dawn :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
ksaltandconbayley,
It’s great to hear from you and receive your feedback regarding your Crowne Plaza experience. We thank you for your compliments regarding our beautiful hotel and comfortable accommodations, but more importantly our team member, Dawn. I’ll be certain to recognize Dawn with a special commendation for her warm hospitality and excellence in service. We look forward to your next visit with us at Crowne Plaza Hamilton. Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel overall was very good! Bed was king size and comfortable! Restaurant Manager was very helpful and professional! Used their facility, swimming pool, whirlpool, exercise room! Definitely would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
ecs12370,
We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback on our great hotel and comfortable accommodations. I’m glad you had an opportunity to enjoy all the amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. Thank you again for writing. We look forward to your return visit with us at Crowne Plaza Hamilton.

Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Although the hotel itself handily qualifies as a 3 star establishment the pool was closed for renovations which they neglected to tell us during the booking. The bar also was shut down for no apparent reason for one night. The location is in the heart of downtown but I wouldn't recommend this place until the renovations were done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
ike_fyre_13,
Thank you for your review. It’s unfortunate to hear that your stay with us was not a satisfying one. I sincerely apologize for your disappointment in the closure of the pool area and bar and the inconveniences you experienced as a result. We value you as our guest and hope you'll visit us again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I was there the other day, we had so many problems. First of all horrible service rude staff, didn't mention pool was closed on site. Asked for a fridge brought one up and didn't work at all! And they would not replace it. And they would not fix are AC or switch us to a different room and it was crazy hot. Don't stay here! Worst service ever.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel was such a disappointment. The facilities were nice but nothing spectacular for the price we were paying. We had a sick baby. They were completely unhelpful and down right rude. Make sure you check your bill. They charged us for parking, a roll away and double charged us for the rooms. Then they acted totally put out that we made them fix the mistake. If the guy in the parking garage smiled he might fall over. Don't call or ask the front desk for anything either. God forbid they do what they are paid to do including the managers. Stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton

Address: 150 King Street East, Hamilton, Ontario L8N1B2, Canada (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Downtown Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.