We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Affordable"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hamilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hamilton to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hamilton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1187 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 3B2, Canada (Formerly Airport Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Thessalon, Ontario
1 review
““Affordable"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Considering the Courtyard by Marriott was charging $200 across the street, the Ho Jo was more affordable. The room was quite large. The floor seemed to echo and feel hollow with every step. Room was fairly clean. Hearing other room doors close were very loud. Everything in the room seemed very old, used and outdated. Old lamps, furniture, worn out carpeting. Yes there was a weird smell in the hallway and the stairwells. The TV wouldn't work. Parking area out back was dimly lit. Grim appearance throughout the hotel. Needs paint, newer carpets. The restaurants attached to the hotel were boarded up....In the end you get what you pay for right? No one can expect great amenities at a low priced hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad we met your minimal requirements, and were able to provide you with a good nights rest, and stay. We do apologize for the TV not working, as that is an important feature at our hotel. With regards to the restaurants closed down beside us, there are new plans for new restaurants to open up in late 2014-2015. We are located in an area with a large abundance of restaurants, from breakfast to dinner.
We hope to see you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    43
    39
    51
    117
See reviews for
69
56
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for a couple of nights and will not be coming back to this location ever again. Parking lot was very dark and unnerving, I did not feel safe parking there. The carpet was dirty and stained, had to ask for a new pillow because the one on my bed was stained and dirty with hair on it. The walls are very thin and you can hear everything through them. Very outdated rooms that are unclean and are in serious need of a makeover. Overall I was deeply disappointed with this stay and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We would like to reassure you that our staff is doing inspections around our property 3 times per their shift, also with video surveillance around the parking lot. We want to reassure to our customer's safety is our number one priority. We do have a large open parking area therefore, we do take that extra precautions. With regards to the un-clean linen and pillows , there's no excuse and we need to do/provide better products and service's . Yes, our building is an older building therefore was do put in place strict no noise policies' after 11:PM. Our staff is also available at the desk 24/7 if assistance needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Needed a room at the last moment. Considering the Courtyard by Marriott was charging $200 across the street, the Ho Jo was more affordable. The room was quite large. The floor seemed to echo and feel hollow with every step. Room was fairly clean. Hearing other room doors close were very loud. Everything in the room seemed very old, used and outdated. Old lamps, furniture, worn out carpeting. Yes their was a weird smell in the hallway and the stairwells. The water pressure for the shower was very low. Washed my hands frequently. Parking area out back was dimly lit. Grim appearance throughout the hotel. Needs paint, newer carpets. The restaurants attached to the hotel were boarded up....In the end you get what you pay for right? No one can expect great amenities at a low priced hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quite large. Park as close to your room as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your opinion on your recent stay. We are glad we met your minimum standards. As I say in most my response's, Yes, we are an older property with older décor, but we strive for very competitive pricing, with good service and clean rooms. The restaurant which is attached too us are closed. We've heard a couple popular chain's are interested in the location. Never the less we are located in restaurant alley, with an abundance of great breakfast, lunch and dinning.
We hope to see you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The room was disgusting, smelly, dirty, hair on my bathroom floor, a hole at the bottom of out door, bathtub taps wouldn't stop leaking, a huge stain on the carpet and I sticky bathroom floor ! As well as our fiends also stayed in another room where the heat did not work the smell wasn't pleasant! Overall terrible stay would have left but we had nowhere to go!!! Would not recommend this place to anyone!!!

We had some entertainment at 7 am but overall terrible!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your review, On behalf of our staff and I, we would like to apologize for the issue's you experienced at our Howard Johnson of Hamilton. It was not our intention to have any of those issue's occur. Our management team will be reviewing your compliant with the cleanness topic. We hope you will give our brand another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I booked three rooms at htis location. They have frindly staff but the rooms were terrible so terrible my room was leaking. This hotel was run down thankfully we were only there for a few hours before our flight. Will never use this hotel again

Room Tip: do not go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your review,your experience with our Howard Johnson of Hamilton was not the quality of service that we have promised to provide to our guests. Our Howard Johnson
promise is something that we strive to deliver to every guest every
day. There is no excuse that our staff did not fulfill that promise in
your case. Please accept our apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

made reservations over the phone (initially though for four days); desk clerk (Mr. Arya) got a bit rude when asked to spell his name; if you are older person, don't bother to ask for 'senior's discount' ("we don't give discounts" - Arya said); checked in late afternoon into room with everything electrical unplugged (including lights), TV remote broken, held together with tape; beddings torn with holes and cheap detergent smell; thin blankets didn't see wash for quite some time; same goes for bedspread and floor carpet; had no choice but to stay one night, checked out next morning after breakfast (included) in poorly maintained dina; stayed in number of H.J. (in Canada and US as well) in the past but thisone is a 'pits'; never again !

Room Tip: stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your concerns
with your recent stay . I understand how upsetting it can be to be on the phone with a rude individual, and I want to apologize on behalf for our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our electrical amenities, as this is something that should not have happened. We do daily inspections to ensure, all electrical units are working properly. We hope you will give our brand another chance. Arya Kichi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hamilton

Address: 1187 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 3B2, Canada (Formerly Airport Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hamilton 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hamilton Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.