We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT USE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hamilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hamilton to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hamilton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1187 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 3B2, Canada (Formerly Airport Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Kincardine, Canada
1 review
“DO NOT USE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I booked three rooms at htis location. They have frindly staff but the rooms were terrible so terrible my room was leaking. This hotel was run down thankfully we were only there for a few hours before our flight. Will never use this hotel again

Room Tip: do not go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your review,your experience with our Howard Johnson of Hamilton was not the quality of service that we have promised to provide to our guests. Our Howard Johnson
promise is something that we strive to deliver to every guest every
day. There is no excuse that our staff did not fulfill that promise in
your case. Please accept our apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    43
    39
    51
    117
See reviews for
69
56
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

made reservations over the phone (initially though for four days); desk clerk (Mr. Arya) got a bit rude when asked to spell his name; if you are older person, don't bother to ask for 'senior's discount' ("we don't give discounts" - Arya said); checked in late afternoon into room with everything electrical unplugged (including lights), TV remote broken, held together with tape; beddings torn with holes and cheap detergent smell; thin blankets didn't see wash for quite some time; same goes for bedspread and floor carpet; had no choice but to stay one night, checked out next morning after breakfast (included) in poorly maintained dina; stayed in number of H.J. (in Canada and US as well) in the past but thisone is a 'pits'; never again !

Room Tip: stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your concerns
with your recent stay . I understand how upsetting it can be to be on the phone with a rude individual, and I want to apologize on behalf for our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our electrical amenities, as this is something that should not have happened. We do daily inspections to ensure, all electrical units are working properly. We hope you will give our brand another chance. Arya Kichi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Most disgusting stay anywhere. If room had not been prepay with no refund we would have left. We were in Hamilton for a family event, checked-in in the afternoon the dead bolts did not work and the room was old and dated the carpeting was so dirty we would not remove our shoes. Went to our function and returned at 1 a.m. to find that our room keys would not work and the desk attendant left a note that he was out......waited to long for him to return and rekey our cards. finally got into the room to find that one of the beds had dirty sheets (blood on them) thank god the other bed seemed to have clean sheets. At 1:30 am our only option was to stay. Howard Johnson's should close this place down.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your perspective on our hotel. Yes, we are an older property but it gives us the opportunity to set very competitive price's. Regarding the key card's not working, key cards are based, and work on a magnetic strip on the back of the key card. If they come in contact with a cell phone, or any other types of card with magnetic strips, they may deprogram. Our staff is available 24/7 to reprogram our customers cards. Our management staff have reviewed your compliant on the dirty sheets, as we do have steps to prevent this. Our housekeeping management team do full inspections of our rooms before they are available to our customers.
We hope you will give Howard Johnson another stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny usa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Rooms tiny, hallway stinks of urine, no restaurant, horrible parking lot and overall not up to howard Johnson's standards.
Stayed one night before a flight thinking it would be Bette than super 8 and boy were we wrong.

Room Tip: If you are using the airport stay better and closer at the super 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review,

We are disappointed that you were unsatisfied with stay. Yes, we do not have a onsite restaurant, but we are located in restaurant alley. Turtle Jacks, the Keg are within a 2 minute walk. Also an abundance of dinning, buffets and all day breakfasts are all down the road. Regarding our parking area. Our parking is free. We find we do have a large area for our customers, there should be plenty of free parking, even when we are sold out. Never the less, we do apologize if you experience a negative experience with our parking. We hope you will give our brand another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hamilton

Address: 1187 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 3B2, Canada (Formerly Airport Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hamilton 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hamilton Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.