We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in Hamilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Hamilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Hamilton Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   116 King Street West, Hamilton, Ontario L8P 4V3, Canada (Downtown Hamilton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Wedding in Hamilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

Attended my niece's wedding on Sunday September 4,2011 in beautiful Hamilton. Our stay at the Hamilton Sheraton was very nice. We were able to check in before the normal check in time, our room was clean, the kingsize bed very comfortable. Overall if you eedto stay I Hamilton you can't vowel g with this Sheraton hotel. Our only complaint was the on site restaurant, it needs some help!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Congratulations on your nieces wedding! I’m happy to hear you were able to check-in early and have an enjoyable stay. Thank you for comment about the Restaurant too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    125
    62
    31
    26
See reviews for
61
72
24
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

Everything about the hotel is filthy! The carpet, the room furnishings, the bathroom ... On and on!
The NON SMOKING room we had was just thick with the smell of smoke! The SHERATON name should not be used here...I would have given anything to stay at Motel 6 !

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We are a 100% smoke free facility and have stringent policies in place to ensure the best comfort and cleanliness. Your welcomed comments are received by our team but with great surprise and shock. Please contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss as your complete satisfaction is paramount. For your convenience, my direct number is 905-317-4510. Recently our hotel was ranked 98% cleanliness by an independent inspection company which is even better then 97% of hotels in the division. We are not perfect, but that is our goal. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Was here for business for two nights. Hotel room was clean and comfortable, the bed and the pillows are fantastic, staff were helpful, food that was catered for our meeting was excellent both breakfasts and lunches. Only complaint would be that the toilet paper role was too far from the actual toilet. Otherwise, everything was great!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a one night getaway over the July/August long weekend. It was a great stay! I love this hotel and would stay here again for sure! I love the way the room was decorated and the bed was unbelievably comfortable!!! The pool on the third floor was fantastic as was the sun deck...it was a HOT day so we spent a few hours in the pool/on the deck. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. They directed us to a great restaurant in Hess Village. We both look forward to our next stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thanks for your comments and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel while attending a conference. If attending a conference at the Hamilton Convention Centre, then this is the ideal hotel as it's connected through a skywalk. There are plenty of restaurants in the hotel, and the hotel is also connected to a large shopping mall and is right beside Copps Coliseum.

The room was very comfortable, the bed was great, and the room well appointed. The only downside is there is no free Wi Fi in the rooms, which is shocking given what the hotel charges per night and the image the hotel tries to portray (I've stayed at a $50 per night budget hotel in a rural area that offered free wi fi, so why can't the Sheraton!). Also there were always a couple of ants in the bathroom when I went to access it, which was rather off-putting.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thanks for the great comments! We are happy to be a City Centre landmark, with great views and all the conveniences of downtown within steps. The Link@Sheraton is our new connectivity hub of our lobby experience, allowing guests to work, relax, socialize or grab a snack and there we offer complimentary wireless internet and also six computer stations with complimentary internet. It is true, in the guestrooms we charge a nominal fee throughout eighteen story building so we can provide excellent internet service. Your comments are appreciated and helpful. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

While traveling through Ontario, my husband and I stopped in Hamilton to visit all the beautiful waterfalls. While on our 3 day of traveling we stayed at the Sheraton Hamilton and we both were so pleasantly surprised by the lovely welcome we received and the wonderful soft soft beds. After traveling further throughout Ontario, we both agreed that the Sheraton's beds were by far the best. We both also enjoyed a nice dip in the pool and visited the mall which is connected to the hotel. Very nice place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments! We sure have an incredible amount of waterfalls in to enjoy in the area. Guests do love, and now even buy online, the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds which is a custom Sealy mattress! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

First time I stayed was in 2005, also for a conference. Even after renovation, the hotel is some how old fashioned. The room is very comfortable, but there is no safety box inside! The bed linnen is great, but the bath towels are really small and no shower cap in the bathroom!! It seems to be a Sheraton problem, as, at the Sheraton Toronto Airport Hotel, also there is no shower cap. I found the breakfast to expensive for what they offer and they do not have a "classic continental" I used to order in other Sheraton hotels.
They have a nice fitness room, but be carefull with the pool, with excess of chlorine.
You must pay for in room Internet and free wi-fi is available only in the lobby
But the camera showing the peregrine falcon is really great.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments! We do have complimentary safety deposit boxes at the front desk available 24 hours a day but understand that in-room convenience would be better – great idea! Its also true complimentary shower caps are delivered by request and not in guestrooms. Thanks for all your great feedback! We are committed to great service and a refreshed city landmark hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hamilton Hotel

Address: 116 King Street West, Hamilton, Ontario L8P 4V3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Downtown Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Hamilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel is near Copps Coliseum, the Hamilton Convention Centre, Hamilton Place, Standard Life office tower, and government offices. Our hotel is between Toronto and Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel Ontario
Hamilton Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.