We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thin walls, basic accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Quality Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Goderich Road | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4W8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Edmonton
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“thin walls, basic accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

The walls were thin enough I could hear people talking and watching tv on the other side. This is an older property, with older furnishings and decor and amenities (microwave). But it is basic, clean and comfortable, and above all safe.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
29
18
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed on the 2nd floor. It was clean but Everything needs updating including the carpet, furniture, and bathrooms. Only good for a quick overnight. Tv sets are old. Beds are only queen size. Excellent price though! Perfect for staying in town 1 night for a wedding and keeping costs down.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Michigan
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

The price was ok on this hotel we stayed at on our way home from NY. It is easy on and off the x-way. The hotel shows it's age and use. The bed was ok but the bathroom showed signs of many repairs. Breakfast was decent and the staff were nice. It seemed a little run down to me. I wouldn't say don't stay at this place but I would look at other options first. The entrance to the parking lot is messed up. You have to go thru another parking lot to get to it and it isn't marked good at all. For a Holiday Inn that was messed up.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night recently after a wedding. To be fair, we had been drinking at the reception and didn't get back to the room until 3am, and we just crashed immediately. In the morning I realized the room was pretty dirty, especially the bathroom. The room just didn't have the look or feel of a typical Holiday Inn Express. It seemed quite small and not very homey. The bed was nice as we both slept soundly until late in the morning.

The hotel staff was very kind as they called a cab to pick us up before the event, and were able to give us a late checkout the next day. The elevators were painfully slow. I woke up too late and missed continental breakfast so I can't say whether that was good or not.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

ARE YOU A TWO PACK A DAY NON-SMOKER, IF SO THIS IS THE PLACE.
I was on the 6th floor of this hotel and had the pleasure of being smoked out of my room by another guest in another room.
I alos had the experience, while my eyes were burning from the smoke being told by the person on nights, John, that he could not smell anything, but offered to "tape up the vents".
i ended up having to be moved to anotehr roon in the middle of the night and then in the morning i was checking out, thank god.

a very nice gesture was made by a very nice lady on the front desk. she took $30.00 for the night.

This small gesture was reversed as soon as i was gone by someone else.

I would rather sleep on the lake shore than stay at thsi hotel again and i was so upset I was ready to never visit a holiday inn again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Have stayed here several times in the past. Noticed a drop off in cleanliness, service, rooms and value. Probably would not stay here next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

I agree with the earlier reviewers that this hotel provides a perfectly decent stay. The staff were helpful and friendly, the room was clean, there is now a lobby computer with internet access, and a free breakfast is included. It is conveniently located right off the QEW highway.
The hotel is starting to be a bit worn around the edges, the hallway looked very dated and the comforter on the bed was thin. There is no main driveway to the hotel, just a route through a neighboring building's parking lot over speedbumps. It could also use a bigger sign on that entrance.
Just fine for a night or two while traveling.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel

Address: 49 Goderich Road | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4W8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Hamilton is the perfect choice for business as well as leisure travellers due to its exceptional location, proximity to all the key area attractions and businesses, and modern onsite facilities. Travellers looking for family friendly Hamilton hotels would not find a better place to stay at with their kids during their visit to Ontario. Quality Hotel Hamilton is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Hamilton Holiday Inn
Quality Hotel Hamilton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.