We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Quality Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Goderich Road | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4W8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice little place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

this hotel is on the old side, but overall it is OK. The beds are comfortable, the front desk associate was very pleasant when we checked in. The only downside to it was the breakfast, I was a bit dissapointed that there were no omelettes for breakfast considering it was a Friday. I would come back if I had to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
29
18
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Not the quality expected from a Holiday Inn Express. Early March visit, inside hotel temp was likely high 80's F temperature. Airconditioner was so loud it stopped me from sleeping. Nearby party started at 2 am and I could hear the people talking through the air vent across from my bed. Called front desk at 2:45am , nothing happened, and I could even hear the yelling over the AC. Called again at 3:15 and even offered them to hear it in my room. Finally subsided at 3:30 am and the next morning, the explanation was that the party was from two floors down, and only started at 3 am and they only checked out my floor and the one above and below. Find it hard that air vents skip a floor. I also find their time record keeping disappointing. Is there not a security guard that is supposed to walk the floors at least sometime within that 1.25 hour period? Food at breakfast okay but at that point I was not a poster child for "I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express lastnight".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Mark L,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

our family stayed at this hotel a few days during a very difficult time - the staff were excellent and even provided us with a better rate due to our circumstances... the hotel is quiet, comfortable and easy to locate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at this property for one night on a business trip. Normally I'm quite happy with Holiday Inn Express properties as they are usually newer properties with clean simple modern rooms. This hotel definitely looks like it was some other property and converted over to an HI Express. The rooms were quite old inside and needed a major refresh. The bedding just felt old and used. Breakfast was your typical fare from a HI Express and was good. The check-in process was fairly easy and I got a little snack pack for being a Priority Club Member. If you don't have a car there really aren't any restaurants that you can go to within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Gord_Mtl,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had because of the room conditions. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. I hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to stay with us and hope that this occasion did not deter you from staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed one night while traveling home. Front Desk was very friendly, but the lobby and hallways were SO very hot. Uncomfortably so.

The bedroom was clean, but seemed like had been done in a rush. The blanket was not smoothed down, and all the things on the tables (guest book, remote, safety tips, etc) were not straight, just a bit crooked. I know I'm being picky, but I travel to a number of hotels a year, and it just seemed unfinished.

My room didn't have a fridge, but one was brought up. Thank you for that. However, the fridge was very loud, so I used ice instead and unplugged it. The heater was also very loud, and had a high pitch sound. I never called down because it was 4am and I was very tired. I ended up turning it on, letting it make noise until the room was very warm, turned it off for the night and just stayed in the covers.

Housekeeping knocked on my door at 10am, waking me up, but check-out wasn't until 11am, and I had a late check-out so I could sleep in.

Shower was hot, the bathroom clean, bed a bit uncomfortable, but not horrible. I would like to try the property again because of the location (it was ideal. 2 minutes from where I needed to be) but am a bit hesitant because another long drive after a sleepless night is not ideal

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Catgirl21,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am very sorry to hear about the problems in your room accommodation. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience and discomfort it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the amenities and guest services we offer to our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a favourite whenever we visit Hamilton. It is not centrally located which is a good thing. At the same time, it is easy to get where you're going. Staff are nice, breakfast is good and rooms fit the bill, all at a decent price. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable, beds very comfortable, property was very clean and quiet. Front desk was very responsive when I complained about a malfunctioning fridge. Breakfast was better than I expected, with adequate choices. The cookies and coffee in the lobby were very welcome.
Staff was very knowledgeable and offered good directions as well as dining recommendations.
I would stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel

Address: 49 Goderich Road | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4W8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Hamilton is the perfect choice for business as well as leisure travellers due to its exceptional location, proximity to all the key area attractions and businesses, and modern onsite facilities. Travellers looking for family friendly Hamilton hotels would not find a better place to stay at with their kids during their visit to Ontario. Quality Hotel Hamilton is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Hamilton Holiday Inn
Quality Hotel Hamilton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.