We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Quality Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Goderich Road | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4W8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Twice = Gift Card
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Toronto
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Second Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were in Hamilton for the marathon and this location is excellent. When we got to our room, it looked really dingy... stained carpets, missing grouting and chipped tiles in the bathroom, old drapes. Not very inviting and, since we had stayed here last year and were very impressed, we spoke to Brenda, the weekend manager. She couldn't have been more helpful. She said that renovations were starting next week and she found us another room, even though the motel was booked solid. The new room had been updated and was much nicer, even had a microwave and mini frig. The bed was very comfortable, the linens pristine and strong water pressure in the shower. There was enough room for a table and a pull-out couch.
Staff were all friendly and catering to the marathoners (bulk of the guests). We were given a late check out, early breakfast and snacks in the lobby for after the run.
The breakfast offered hot and cold choices in a large, clean area. Pancake machine wasn't working which was a disappointment.
This is an old hotel, in an industrial location but it has good value and pleasant, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    36
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
30
20
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Always a plesent stay at the holiday inn express Hamilton. Newley renovated bathrooms, excellent staff, bang for your buck, always clean, and amazing service and location. Have stayed here in the past and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel on the third week of October.
The lobby is nice - the room we had was well appointed and quite comfortable. Not much of a view but that was not the purpose of our stay anyway.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 5 nights during my business trip in Hamilton and i think it's a great cake hotel. It's the details that set them apart from the rest of the hotel road chain - flowing coffee and cookies at the lobby and better breakfast options. The staff is super nice and friendly. The rooms are basic , comfortable , with large flat screen. The drawback is that the GPS is a bit messed up on this location. There is a nearby newly opened Walmart , and of course the hotel is attached to a restaurant chain.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked this hotel through an online discounter - one of the sites where it doesn't tell you which hotel you are staying at until you've paid. We were going to a wedding in Ancaster and were not going to be spending much time in the hotel. Many of the wedding guests stayed at the Courtyard Marriott a little further down the Lincoln Alexander Parkway. For sure the Courtyard Marriott is a little newer and fancier, but they all paid over twice what we paid for the Holiday Inn Express. That's fine if you are booking a place that you're going to stay in a lot, but this was just a place to crash at the end of the evening.

The staff were very friendly upon arrival, with the smell of baking cookies in the air. Check in was a breeze, parking was easy and the room was clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the water pressure and temperature in the shower and bath was excellent. There was a free breakfast in the morning.

The elevator was impossibly slow, and the flooring was a bit worn, but otherwise this was a very pleasant and comfortable stay and I'm thrilled that it didn't cost us an arm and a leg. :) I would book this location again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I wish I would have gotten the names of the staff which we encountered. From the live chat on the website to the check-out. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

The room was great! Very spacious and clean. I love all the extras. Plenty of towels, shampoos soap etc.

Breakfast was nice as well. The staff made sure things were replenished as needed.

The road that the gps takes you through off the highway was scary but the room was well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very run down. Please see the pictures.. For the price go some place else. Wall paper peeling, tub over flow piece missing, grout missing from floor and wall in bathroom. Carpets dirty and mold on the door.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear truckin548211,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations. I am also sorry you were not satisfied with the rates. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior, and strive to be the best hotel around. Unfortunately, your account settings do not allow us to send you a Private Message. You are welcome to reach out to our Customer Care Department via email at IHGCare@ihg.com or you may send us a Private Message through TripAdvisor to IHGCare including reference to your TripAdvisor Account Name so we can follow up. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel

Address: 49 Goderich Road | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4W8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Hamilton is the perfect choice for business as well as leisure travellers due to its exceptional location, proximity to all the key area attractions and businesses, and modern onsite facilities. Travellers looking for family friendly Hamilton hotels would not find a better place to stay at with their kids during their visit to Ontario. Quality Hotel Hamilton is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Hamilton Holiday Inn
Quality Hotel Hamilton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.