We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room - decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Quality Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Goderich Road | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4V4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Hamilton
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice room - decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel on the third week of October.
The lobby is nice - the room we had was well appointed and quite comfortable. Not much of a view but that was not the purpose of our stay anyway.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
24
16
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed 5 nights during my business trip in Hamilton and i think it's a great cake hotel. It's the details that set them apart from the rest of the hotel road chain - flowing coffee and cookies at the lobby and better breakfast options. The staff is super nice and friendly. The rooms are basic , comfortable , with large flat screen. The drawback is that the GPS is a bit messed up on this location. There is a nearby newly opened Walmart , and of course the hotel is attached to a restaurant chain.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked this hotel through an online discounter - one of the sites where it doesn't tell you which hotel you are staying at until you've paid. We were going to a wedding in Ancaster and were not going to be spending much time in the hotel. Many of the wedding guests stayed at the Courtyard Marriott a little further down the Lincoln Alexander Parkway. For sure the Courtyard Marriott is a little newer and fancier, but they all paid over twice what we paid for the Holiday Inn Express. That's fine if you are booking a place that you're going to stay in a lot, but this was just a place to crash at the end of the evening.

The staff were very friendly upon arrival, with the smell of baking cookies in the air. Check in was a breeze, parking was easy and the room was clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the water pressure and temperature in the shower and bath was excellent. There was a free breakfast in the morning.

The elevator was impossibly slow, and the flooring was a bit worn, but otherwise this was a very pleasant and comfortable stay and I'm thrilled that it didn't cost us an arm and a leg. :) I would book this location again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I wish I would have gotten the names of the staff which we encountered. From the live chat on the website to the check-out. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

The room was great! Very spacious and clean. I love all the extras. Plenty of towels, shampoos soap etc.

Breakfast was nice as well. The staff made sure things were replenished as needed.

The road that the gps takes you through off the highway was scary but the room was well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is very run down. Please see the pictures.. For the price go some place else. Wall paper peeling, tub over flow piece missing, grout missing from floor and wall in bathroom. Carpets dirty and mold on the door.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear truckin548211,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations. I am also sorry you were not satisfied with the rates. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior, and strive to be the best hotel around. Unfortunately, your account settings do not allow us to send you a Private Message. You are welcome to reach out to our Customer Care Department via email at IHGCare@ihg.com or you may send us a Private Message through TripAdvisor to IHGCare including reference to your TripAdvisor Account Name so we can follow up. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The property had a strong urine odor while we were there. Other guests noticed this. Has items stolen from our car overnight. Not a pleasant stay. Would not recommend unless you need to be in the area. Other properties are nicer/cleaner/newer/cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Tantalum129,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I am very disappointed to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and would like to address your concerns in further details. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osijek, Croatia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel outside and in public areas is very nice and clean, the staff friendly. The location was nice, a bit off the beaten path. The room was comfy with nice furniture (the big TV and couch being useful) and a comfortable bed. The bathroom however looked old. Floor tiles were worn out, the grout cracked. The shower worked but seemed aged. Most noticeable was the hole in the ceiling paint, from which water condensation dripped after even short showers. I was there for two nights with my wife - I would consider staying in this hotel again, but would first consider other options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Andrew-Jay S,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room amenities, cleanliness and friendly staff.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the bathroom. I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We will address these points. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Hamilton Holiday Inn
Quality Hotel Hamilton, Ontario
Address: 49 Goderich Road | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4V4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Choice Hamilton hotel,our Hamilton hotel is tucked near the western corner of Lake Ontario, less than an hour from Toronto, Niagara Falls, two major airports, and the United States border.Hamilton is home to part of the Royal Botanical Gardens, a national treasure of Canada, among other exciting and interesting attractions. Our proximity to downtown means that many sights and sounds, as well as choice Hamilton restaurants, wait just minutes down the road. Interesting spots for tourism include Dundurn Castle, Wild Waterworks, Niagara's Wine region and nearby Lake Ontario. If you have time, you really should visit Niagara Falls, less than an hour east of our Hamilton hotel.It is hard to find accommodations in Hamilton - Stoney Creek that compare to ours. Our accommodations are designed for both corporate business travelers and for being comfortable for families on trips at an affordable, low rate. The Quality Hotel-Hamilton features a business station, two boardrooms for small meetings, audio/visual rental equipment and fax/copier services. If you're looking for Hamilton lodging suitable for a business travel, look no further.We also provide free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, as well as a convenient fitness centre for staying in shape during your trip. Whether for leisure or business, make your Hamilton hotel reservations today and look forward to a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel to your Saves list