We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Quality Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Goderich Road | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4W8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Twice = Gift Card
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked this hotel through an online discounter - one of the sites where it doesn't tell you which hotel you are staying at until you've paid. We were going to a wedding in Ancaster and were not going to be spending much time in the hotel. Many of the wedding guests stayed at the Courtyard Marriott a little further down the Lincoln Alexander Parkway. For sure the Courtyard Marriott is a little newer and fancier, but they all paid over twice what we paid for the Holiday Inn Express. That's fine if you are booking a place that you're going to stay in a lot, but this was just a place to crash at the end of the evening.

The staff were very friendly upon arrival, with the smell of baking cookies in the air. Check in was a breeze, parking was easy and the room was clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the water pressure and temperature in the shower and bath was excellent. There was a free breakfast in the morning.

The elevator was impossibly slow, and the flooring was a bit worn, but otherwise this was a very pleasant and comfortable stay and I'm thrilled that it didn't cost us an arm and a leg. :) I would book this location again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
30
21
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I wish I would have gotten the names of the staff which we encountered. From the live chat on the website to the check-out. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

The room was great! Very spacious and clean. I love all the extras. Plenty of towels, shampoos soap etc.

Breakfast was nice as well. The staff made sure things were replenished as needed.

The road that the gps takes you through off the highway was scary but the room was well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very run down. Please see the pictures.. For the price go some place else. Wall paper peeling, tub over flow piece missing, grout missing from floor and wall in bathroom. Carpets dirty and mold on the door.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear truckin548211,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations. I am also sorry you were not satisfied with the rates. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior, and strive to be the best hotel around. Unfortunately, your account settings do not allow us to send you a Private Message. You are welcome to reach out to our Customer Care Department via email at IHGCare@ihg.com or you may send us a Private Message through TripAdvisor to IHGCare including reference to your TripAdvisor Account Name so we can follow up. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The property had a strong urine odor while we were there. Other guests noticed this. Has items stolen from our car overnight. Not a pleasant stay. Would not recommend unless you need to be in the area. Other properties are nicer/cleaner/newer/cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Tantalum129,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I am very disappointed to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and would like to address your concerns in further details. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osijek, Croatia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel outside and in public areas is very nice and clean, the staff friendly. The location was nice, a bit off the beaten path. The room was comfy with nice furniture (the big TV and couch being useful) and a comfortable bed. The bathroom however looked old. Floor tiles were worn out, the grout cracked. The shower worked but seemed aged. Most noticeable was the hole in the ceiling paint, from which water condensation dripped after even short showers. I was there for two nights with my wife - I would consider staying in this hotel again, but would first consider other options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Andrew-Jay S,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room amenities, cleanliness and friendly staff.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the bathroom. I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We will address these points. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

First impressions are important, but unfortunately this time they were also misleading. Walking into the lobby, I thought we had a nice place to stay. Got in the elevator and it was dirty, didn't think much of it. Walked into our room and it smelled. Not sure if it was of old smoke or what, but it was not pleasant. Thankfully I always bring fabric refresher, just in case. Sprayed the room down before we went to dinner and it seems to have helped. It is at least tolerable. Next issue is the bathroom. Long overdue for an overhaul. It looks dirty and worn. Not what I really want to use. We just left a Holiday Inn in Buffalo, that was great, so this is very disappointing. We are in the Hamilton area a few times a year for medical appointments, and we will be sure to pass this hotel on all future visits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My, family vacationed from Charleston, S.C. area here and booked the room with Hotwire.com. We forgot to ask for a fold away/roll out bed for my daughter. After we checked in they were able to locate one for us. Upon checking out the front desk manager refused to charge it to us since "It would be more trouble". I could have paid in cash or credit to the hotel but he refused!!!
When we visit again we will stay here again for sure. And not just for the free bed.

Room Tip: Ask for the end room near the stairs they are quieter. Also on the weekend ALOT of wedding guest us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel

Address: 49 Goderich Road | QEW & Centennial Parkway, Hamilton, Ontario L8E 4W8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hamilton)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Hamilton is the perfect choice for business as well as leisure travellers due to its exceptional location, proximity to all the key area attractions and businesses, and modern onsite facilities. Travellers looking for family friendly Hamilton hotels would not find a better place to stay at with their kids during their visit to Ontario. Quality Hotel Hamilton is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Hamilton Holiday Inn
Quality Hotel Hamilton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.