We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All hotels should take a leaf out of this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2171 Wilson Street West (Hwy 2) | Ancaster, Hamilton, Ontario L0R 1R0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All hotels should take a leaf out of this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed for only 1 night and wished it could have been longer. We had a warm greeting from Shane & Alan and we were made to feel most welcome. There are lots of places to relax around the house and outside. The thing that amazed us was there was everything available in your room and more than we have ever had from any top hotel that we have stayed at. There are playing cards, popcorn to put in the microwave, wine, all kinds of amenities in the bathroom and even a torch by the bed in case you need to get up in the night and not want to disturb the other person with the main lights. The breakfast was great and Shane even cooked a great meal in the evening for us. One of the best things there is the Goldendoodle, Shelby. She is the most gorgeous and gentle dog you will ever meet. You will not be disappointed if you stay here

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alancm2, Guest Relations Manager at Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Graham P:
At Serenity Ranch, we like to think that everything we do tends to be 'over the top. And why not? Hotels have a tendency to be mundane. No-one want to drive for a bag of pop-corn, and why should they when we are well stocked here?
Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to see you at the Ranch.
Alan Campbell Moscrop
Guest Relations,
Serenity Ranch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
83
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
windsor, ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It is difficult to come up with anything different to say than all the previous reviews, but here are my reasons why I enjoyed my stay:
1. The Golden Acres room, and also the Pondview, are located upstairs with a private entrance, so very quiet. Also really lovely furniture and a bed that is wonderfully comfortable.
2. There is a fantastic guest kitchen on the lower level. There is a full fridge, stove, microwave, toaster and dishwasher. The kitchen is fully stocked with cutlery, dishes and cooking tools. To me this is a huge bonus, as we often make small meals when away.
3. The place is more like an Inn than a B&B, lots of different places to sit outside without bumping shoulders with everyone else. When we stayed, it was fully booked, and yet we had the entire back patio to ourselves. Also the "sunset cottage" is a beautiful sitting room for guests, really very lovely with a definite "cottagey" feel to it. If I had the room to build one I would. Gorgeous view of the sunsets.
4. The location is excellent- only a few km to get to onto the 403, and maybe a 6 or 7 minute drive into Ancaster, and 15 minutes to the waterfront in Hamilton Harbor.

As everyone else has stated, the hosts are excellent and Shelby the dog is very well behaved, and well, just adorable. Thanks Alan and Shane, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alancm2, Guest Relations Manager at Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear mayantraveler:
We are so glad that you enjoyed staying at the Ranch. Knowing that guests do not necessarily want to mingle, we organized our accommodation so that there are numerous separate conversational areas.
Like yourself, many of our guests like to prepare the odd meal in our guest kitchen. It is fully stocked and ready to go.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again.
Best regards,
Alan Campbell Moscrop'
Guest Relations
Serenity Ranch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This B&B has everything from toothpaste, toothbrush, wine and snacks to a washing machine. It's all complementary. Their internet access has very high bandwidth and really low latency.

I liked the quiet and comfortable guest lounge with a view over the farms and fields. A very nice place to relax in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alancm2, Guest Relations Manager at Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guido S:
We know how important it is for travellers to have internet. Not only is ours complimentary but, as you have commented, it is extremely fast.
We may give the impression of being laid back and rural, but we are hi-tech in the best sense of the word - it probably doesn't show.
You review was most appreciated, and we thank you.
Best wishes,
Alan Campbell Moscrop
Guest Relations,
Serenity Ranch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Small wonder Serenity Bed and Breakfast just won a prestigious international award ! Shane goes the extra mile for each of Serenity Ranch's guests, including my two 4-legged little guests (shih tzus). He could not have been more helpful ! The hospitality is warm and sincere. After a grueling drive on Friday of the Canada Day long weekend, I was invited to join Shane and Alan for their down-east chowder supper, which avoided fast-food take-out (due to the dogs). I couldn't believe it! The B&B is located just 1 kilometer from Ancaster, and not far from Hamilton. Yet it rests in the quiet and serene countryside. The rooms have every convenience and amenity imaginable, and the decor is exquisite. They have thought of everything.....including cozy housecoats in the closet (great for unexpected night-time requests by the shih tzus to use the lawn facilities!) All rooms have coded locks and the entire premises are secure. I was attending a wedding in the area and being able to find pet-friendly accommodation was important to me, since my pets are still adjusting to my husband's recent passing. I have stayed in B&Bs in New Zealand, Australia, the USA and other areas in Ontario, including some rather good ones. Serenity Ranch far exceeds them all !

Room Tip: I chose a small room on the lower level and it had the closest access to the back yard for pee-patro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alancm2, Guest Relations Manager at Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Heather-Belle67:
How kind it was of you to write a review and comment on our hospitality at Serenity Ranch.
Indeed, we do try to 'think of everything'. We thought all hotels did that, but perhaps not.
PLease come back again with your dogs and visit us!
Alan Campbell Moscrop
Guest Relations,
Serenity Ranch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is by far the best -- and most serene -- B&B experience my family and I have had. We stayed here during our move as we transitioned to Ontario from Virginia. The atmosphere at "The Ranch" is relaxing and blissful. To often, a place on the road is simply a stay where you are nickel and dimed, e.g., a few dollars for WiFi, a few for wine, a few for laundry and so on. All rooms have phones with free calling all over North America.

The innkeepers at Serenity Ranch have changed this by putting the "H" back into hospitality. We arrived with a pet dog who became as pampered as us by the end of our stay. He was allowed to roam the property, given little treats from time to time, and petted affectionately. The B&B has its own dog, Shelby, who can steal your heart if you are a pet lover.

Our family was treated very well. Our sons enjoyed speaking with Shane and his business partner, Alan. Shane grilled pork and kabobs for us during our first evening and just became a comfortable part of our family. Alan, a distinguished physician, came back from surgery each day and laid out the evening spread of wine, cheese, crackers, humus, olives, and other sundry hors d'oeuvres for us and others. Both Shane and Alan took time to talk to us as we returned after spending our day out. After a four day stay we became very fond of them. Breakfast is laid out by Nikki who helps these innkeepers. She is very helpful and an excellent source of information about the area. The folks at "the ranch" are just regular people with extra large hearts.

The rooms are well appointed. Our bed had two electrical outlets on each side which we used to charge or power four electronic devices. We used the phone to call our other son and relatives in the U.S. The bathroom had all the amenities that we required, from toothbrushes to toothpaste to shaving cream to disposable razors to various soaps, shampoos and conditioners. It had a fridge. The ranch has a full guest kitchen where we cooked a meal of grilled chicken and asparagus because we became tired of eating out while being on the road.

Our experience, we learned, was quite routine. We met regulars at the ranch who are repeat visitors, either on a business trip or passing through for another purpose. They return because of the hospitality and a sense of belonging. The premises were quite full when we were there. Indeed, the B&B appears to be very popular.

Its location is also excellent. The ranch is located in the Greenbelt, which is a conservation area. Hence, it is an oasis of calm adjacent to a vibrant metropolis. For those interested in an upscale experience, Ancaster and Dundas are both minutes away and have fine dining. There are also other, more regular, eating establishments to fit a busy schedule, a casual mood, or a more restricted budget.

Nikki pointed our that our visit coincided with the annual "Tastes of Ancaster" event where local restaurants, wineries and pubs lay out their specialities in the form of heavy appetizers. One simply hops from table to table sampling the food and drink. It was a pleasant experience.

This was a special stay. It couldn't have been any better. A great place with wonderful people!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alancm2, Guest Relations Manager at Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are thrilled to learn that your family found Serenity Ranch 'relaxing and blissful'. Thank you for your review.
We are proud of the amenities which we offer at no additional cost.
Basically we are just innkeepers who want visitors to have a great stay, and we are rewarded when they enjoy their stay as you have.
Welcome to Canada!
Alan Campbell Moscrop
Guest Relations,
Serenity Ranch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I photographed a wedding in Delhi this past weekend and stayed at Serenity. (We photographed a previous wedding this past February, and stayed at the ranch, so we knew we wanted to book this B&B again for our June wedding.) Knowing that a wonderful and comfortable bed, a generous breakfast, and peaceful atmosphere awaited us meant we couldn't wait to arrive!

And most importantly, we looked forward to Shane's down-to-earth welcoming spirit, interesting conversations with Alan, and free hugs from Shelby the dog.

Our clients' wedding was close to an hour away, and we chose to stay at Serenity, not booking accommodations elsewhere. Our overnight at Serenity is predictable as it is delightful.

Investing in this 'better way to stay' equals value for your dollar and a memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alancm2, Guest Relations Manager at Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Living here, we sometimes forget how beautiful and tranquil the Ranch is. Guests often photograph our grounds and their pictures provide us with a reminder of how things were when we are battling the ravages of February!
We are flattered that you chose to stay with us while you had a business engagement in another town, and are glad we were able to provide a restful interlude.
Thank you so much for writing,
Best wishes,
Alan Campbell Moscrop
Guest Relations
Serenity Ranch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Shane makes his guests very welcome in a facility that has all the amenities one finds in a luxury hotel but with the atmosphere and grace of one's own home. The room was very comfortable and well appointed, had loads of extras (including beautiful roses for our 47th anniversary!) I'm hoping we can find an excuse to drive this route again, just to stay here another time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alancm2, Guest Relations Manager at Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We love to help celebrate anniversaries. When our guests give us a little notice we can add our own touches to make the day so special.
We have found that some couples come back the following year to celebrate again, and we are thrilled when that occurs.
May all happiness be yours,
on behalf of Serenity Ranch,
Alan Campbell Moscrop
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2171 Wilson Street West (Hwy 2) | Ancaster, Hamilton, Ontario L0R 1R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the rolling farmlands of Ontario, Serenity Ranch Bed & Breakfast offers luxurious accommodations in warm, friendly surroundings.Our guests enjoy unparalleled relaxation at the Ranch which is in Jerseyville, 15 minutes from Hamilton and 60 minutes from Toronto or Niagara.We believe that our service should exceed expectations and so we offer delicious complimentary full breakfasts, with attention to special dietary requirements and preferences, free parking and everything that our guests could possibly need for a comfortable stay. We think of amenities which other establishments haven't even considered. Most of our suites have direct dial phones with FREE long distance calling in Canada and U.S. Our wireless internet is FREE and extends throughout the entire property. Our awards include Tourism Hamilton 'Bed and Breakfast of the Year' 2010 and 2011, Readers' Choice 'Best Bed and Breakfast 2011' and TripAdvisor Award of Excellence 2012, 2013 , 2014. We are a TripAdvisor Travelers` Choice 2013, 2014 and 2015 winner, (rated #3 of the Top 25 B&B`s and Inns in Canada). Serenity Ranch provides many conversational areas both inside and outdoors, including our unique Sunset Cottage where all guests may enjoy year-round panoramic views of the surrounding countryside. We offer temporary membership at a local fitness centre. Serenity Ranch guests have access to a fully equipped guest kitchen. Situated on 2 acres of manicured grounds, surrounded by farm land, Serenity Ranch is an ideal getaway for those seeking the highest standards. We welcome children and well behaved dogs. We can provide conference facilities for small groups and are especially suitable for accommodating wedding groups.Serenity Ranch is minutes away from the Ancaster Fairgrounds, and is within easy reach of several golf courses and walking trails. Biking trails are close by. The surrounding countryside is a favourite among cyclists and motorbike enthusiasts. The historic village of Ancaster is just down the road. We invite guests to enjoy the serenity and luxury which it is our mission to provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Ranch Bed And Breakfast Hamilton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serenity Ranch Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.