We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Sunday Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of With the Grain

With the Grain
294 Woolwich St., Guelph, Ontario, Canada
5198270008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 319 Restaurants in Guelph
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Enjoy our all day breakfast, seasonal sandwiches & salads, and fresh baked treats in our Cafe. Drop by the Bakery across the street for artisanal breads and tempting baked goods to carry home. Take-out & catering also available!
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stopped in for a nice Sunday Morning Breakfast and were very happy that we did, my wife had the Trout and poached egg dish and I had oatmeal pancakes with real maple syrup! We really enjoyed these dishes while sitting in front of the gas fireplace. They have wonderful goodies in the Bakery section also. We highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn I, Office Coordinator at With the Grain, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thanks so much for your positive review! I'll be sure to forward your comments to our staff, they will certainly appreciate them. Hope to see you again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“delish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Yummy sandwiches. Only disappointment was the hot chocolate. Miniscule...lukewarm...bland... and expensive. Only ordered drink to warm up because it was cold in the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn I, Front Office Manager at With the Grain, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We really appreciate it. I will pass the comments about the hot chocolate along to our FoH Coordinator, I know she was trying some new flavour combinations this year so getting feedback about that is important. Hope you're keeping warm in this cold weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“super yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is the best bakery that I have ever been to. I go almost weekly for the bread. They have a daily bread menu. There is also a wide range of exceptional treats - cookies, squares, muffins, scones etc. They also make wonderful granola and spreads. For special holidays you can order wonderful pies and other gems. Saturdays are cinnamon roll day but get there early if you want them! You MUST visit this bakery.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn I, Front Office Manager at With the Grain, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review! We're so glad you enjoy the breads and other sweets. If you have any suggestions for new breads make sure to let the staff at the counter know next time you're in as we've been talking about changing up the bread schedule a bit before Easter. Thanks again for taking the time to write us a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Came here for lunch, it was quaint. I had the roasted Lemon chèvre sandwich. It was delicious except a little hard to eat, the meat kept falling out of the bread, but worth every effort since I even got one to go, for later. The fact that it is all local food is worth the trip wether you are near by or farther away from downtown. Yum.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn I, Office Coordinator at With the Grain, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for visiting and for the review! We hope you'll join us again and I'll make sure to pass on your comment about the sandwich to the kitchen staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Chocolate dream bars!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My favourite place in Guelph to grab lunch or some fresh baked goods! Everything is always so tasty, healthy and fresh. It gets very busy so it is hard to get a table in the small cafe consequently, the service can suck at peak hours. Recommend getting it to go. The chocolate dream bars are amazing and you absolutely have to try one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed With the Grain also viewed

 
Guelph, Ontario
 

Been to With the Grain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage With the Grain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.