We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great music and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattans Pizza Bistro & Jazz Club

Manhattans Pizza Bistro & Jazz Club
951 Gordon Street, Guelph, Ontario N1G 4S1, Canada
+1 519-767-2440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 308 Restaurants in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the south end of Guelph, manhattans pizza bistro●music club is your independently owned neighbourhood restaurant that boasts a unique dining experience featuring live music almost every night of the week (see music line-up for details). Our delicious menu and hard-working kitchen crew serve up a little something for everyone. Made with love and quality ingredients our dinner menu includes New York style thin crust pizza, pastas, grilled entrées, and mouth-watering desserts all made in-house. The newly redone interior is warm and inviting, perfect for romantic and relaxing late night eats and drinks (kitchen is open til midnight every Friday/Saturday). Our doors are open weekday afternoons for lunch at 11AM.Everyone is welcome: singles and couples, young and old, families, and those first dates. No dress code – come as you are, or however you want to be. Reservations are appreciated.Do it here.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great music and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Manhattan's looks great after re:opening. The pizza was amazing and my salad with chicken and rasberry dressing was good. Def go back!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    34
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Manhattan's Bistro top notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Had a suprise party over the weekend at Manhattan's for my wife's 30th birthday. I have to say, this Bistro is all class. The atmosphere was fantastic, music was great, food was excellent and the service was top notch. We had plans to visit another location down town after dinner but ended up staying at Manhattan's till closing. Nice job Manhattan's, you helped make this night one to remember!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, ON
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

They have a different 'take' on pizza - not for kids! Really enjoy the martini menu and desserts!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Twenty-five years and still going strong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Hadn't been to Manhattans in a couple years. Wife & I went for a light meal and live jazz (University of Guelph Jazz Ensemble). Two dollar cover for the band & well worth it. This is not your ususal pizza joint. Manhattans serves gourmet pizza and other entres but pizza has been the speciality for over 25 years. We had the "Basie" pizza, a pistachio pesto knock-out, and some fine aussie shiraz.

You can order any number of house specialty pizzas (Ella, Basie, etc) or design your own. Pasta & other entres are on the menu too, plus a great winelist and other beverages. It was packed on the Thursday we were there, partly the live jazz band and partly the good food. Reservations are recommended, especially when there is live entertainment.

Service was a little down when we were there. It is usually very good and owner Thomas Eldridge is there to greet you and make you comfy. Our waitress forgot our order but we hardly noticed, taking in the jazz and the wine; however, the waitress came along and profusely apologized and rushed our order and offered it to us gratis for the error. We tried to pay but she would not listen. It was free. This is great service, even when it is a goof. We left a hefty tip for the error (ironic). People make mistakes and all you can do is apologize and make the best of it, and she was great.

Our pizza was fine and we were glad to be back after a couple years. We won't wait another two years.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Surprising quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Food was great, service was slow, and prices were high. Pizza of the day was hot with whole wheat crust, perfectly baked, and crispy. Side salad with Balsamic dressing was delicious with gourmet ingresients, not ice burg lettuce.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattans Pizza Bistro & Jazz Club also viewed

 
Guelph, Ontario
 

Been to Manhattans Pizza Bistro & Jazz Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattans Pizza Bistro & Jazz Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.