We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New spot to try - great pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buon Gusto

Buon Gusto
69 Wyndham St N, Guelph, Ontario N1H 4S7, Canada
15192658766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 319 Restaurants in Guelph
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“New spot to try - great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Wonderful downtown location with a great proper pizza oven for some delicious supper prior to an evening out. Service was a little lacking but the food was very good, I expect we will visit again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    59
    23
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Food was good, Service not so much. Our server from the start did not introduce herself, brought our wine after the apps and rushed us. The pace for an Italian experience was very rushed, and a couple items we chose they were out of. We finally told her we would like to enjoy our wine, which she never once filled our glasses with, and we had to flag her down for coffees. The coffees took 40 min and were eventually free. Not a good experience, loud and thumping music playing. No fresh pepper or cheese offered. No reason to go back

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza at excellent value ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ate there the other day with a group of friends and opted for a pizza - and I am a bit of a connoisseur when it comes to that.

Exceeded my expectations and I ended up talking to the chief baker at the large pizza oven they had imported from Italy and custom built.

Classic 60/2/2 recipe on the dough with a 4 day (!!!) rise time and a bake time of < 3 min. at > 700 Fahrenheit. These people got the pizza thing down pat - highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Taste of Italy at Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had heard about the addition of Buon Gusto to the Guelph Dining scene and decided to give it a try. We had reservations for 6:00 PM on a busy Saturday Night, but were served promptly and efficiently. The restaurant was quite crowded and very noisy so I wouldn't consider it for that quiet, romantic dinner. However, if you are looking for good Italian Food and wine at a reasonable price, you should give this a try. My wife and I split an appetizer of Mushroom and Gorgonzola Crustini, and it was excellent. I had a pizza and my wife tried one of their pastas. Both were very good, and with wine, dessert and gratuity, we came in at under $80. We will definitely give it another try

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Fun Wednesday Night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I popped in on a whim after hearing good word of mouth about Buon Gusto.
Very busy but service was prompt and friendly. Delicious pizza for a fair price and their tiramisu and cappacino combo IS TO DIE FOR!!!
- wel be back

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buon Gusto also viewed

 
Guelph, Ontario
 

Been to Buon Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buon Gusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.