We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality Pad Thai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Papaya Bar & Grill

Red Papaya Bar & Grill
Quebec Street Mall | 55 Wyndham Street, Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 304 restaurants in Guelph
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Quality Pad Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was walking through the Old Quebec St Mall and decided to stop by for lunch and give it a try. The dining room is large and spotless, with a small bar area near the back of the restaurant. The menu has a mix of Vietnamese and Thai dishes. As well as a nice selection of well priced beers on tap. I started with the spring rolls with a sweet sauce. They were tasty and well made, not at all greasy. Next i had the chicken Pad Thai, It was a good sized portion and all the veggies tasted fresh. it was absolutely delicious! My waitress was friendly, efficient and was able to answer my questions about some of the menu items. Delicious food that's well made and reasonably priced, i will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    4
    4
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow, this is amazing Thai food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We sat for quite a while before we got attention but ended up being served by Alex, who was apparently the bartender. Well, we couldn't have asked for a more attentive server! He was fantastic, funny, offered food suggestions, all in all a pleasant and knowledgeable server. And the food, my goodness, the food was the best Thai food I've ever had. We'll definitely be going back (and asking for Alex to serve us!). The spring rolls, beef pad thai and chicken drunken noodles were magnificent!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable food, average selection and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Red Papaya is one of the better Thai restaurants in Guelph, although lately it seems to have been struggling. Menu selection became smaller and prices went up. The place is also eerily empty every time we come there. Maybe they have more people later in the evening?

It's conveniently located, the service is decent and the food is good. The prices are affordable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Amazing time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I went to the Red Papaya on a night they had a latin band and dancing. They have a large floor and good sized stage so it was perfect. All of us (including our friends) ordered snacks like spring rolls and Pad Thai and the food was very tasty and reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and I even chatted with the owner for a while about planning future events. My only concern was keeping the floor clean for dancers while customers walk over the dance area to get to the bar. We will return soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelville, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“ised to be good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

but then Eh and his bother sold it and these days it seems to be mediocre at best. The food is no longer as fresh as we would like,

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Papaya Bar & Grill also viewed

Guelph, Ontario
Guelph, Ontario
 

Been to Red Papaya Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Papaya Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.