We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Joint Cafe

The Joint Cafe
43 Cork St East, Guelph, Ontario, Canada
+1 519-265-8508
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 308 Restaurants in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Joint Cafe located in downtown Guelph. The cafe is a cool and comfortable place to relax and grab a Birds & Beans coffee, glass of wine, craft beer or custom cocktail. We offer a variety of beer by the bottle, such as Mill Street Organic & Tankhouse, as well as Stonehammer Dark & Pilsner & Wellington SPA. Our food is second to none and is all made from scratch in house. Check out our menu on our website.Take a seat in front of our fireplace and chill out with a favourite magazine or book. Our team is ready to serve you and allow you some quiet time to just decompress from the day.We do offer free wi-fi to our guests, but we are a laptop free zone from 11am-2pm & during our evening dining. It is important to us to keep our tables open for our dining clientele.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Always a good variety and incredibly hardworking and welcoming staff. Also great supporters of the cultural community of downtown so more than just a restaurant

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJointTeam, Owner at The Joint Cafe, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are very proud and privileged to be apart of such a dynamic community. The success of the cafe is based solely around our team and the guests that support us regularly - we are thankful each day for it all.

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are always so happy to hear when our guests enjoy themselves at the cafe. We hope you will also join us at our sister property across the street come spring 2013. Name to be disclosed shortly - we actually haven't confirmed it as of yet.

Much appreciation - Bobbi & The Joint Gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    32
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Went here for valentines breakfast, it was really good. Left full and satisfied. The coffee is awesome, went home with a bag of beans.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJointTeam, Owner at The Joint Cafe, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I am so happy your Valentine morning went so well. We look forward to having you with us again soon. Warmly, Bobbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Grilled Cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Grilled Cheese here is what good comfort food should be, yet the chef has managed to ad her own twist to it, and make something special.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJointTeam, Owner at The Joint Cafe, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you Thank you Thank you! I have to say my ultimate comfort food has always been a Grilled Cheese. As much as ketchup is a good accompaniment, the garlic vinaigrette and side of chili sauce is a personal favourite of mine. I would love to hear any of your other personal comfort food favourites! Thank you for the review and for visiting us at The Joint. Please check out our soon to be "sister" property, located right across from the cafe. Opening April 2013. - Warmly, Bobbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Warm and inviting, but a vegan/gluten free let down...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Cute cafe on an unexpecting street. We thought we would give it a try after reading the great reviews; we were a bit dissapointed. We felt a bit misguided by the vegan reviews; anticipating more then just a few selections...we should have taken a closer look at the menu. We did have tasty meals, but over priced for what they were...$12 Mac and Cheese??!! Its been 2 days and our jackets still smell of this place; a good ventilation system would be an asset. Over all, warm and inviting. Let's hope the next time we visit we will see some falafel or veggie patties on the menu. More gluten free options would be great too. Oh...the coffee was fantastic!! We bought a few bags to go, as well as the fruit/nut bars.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJointTeam, Owner at The Joint Cafe, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hello, thank you very much for your review, we appreciate you taking the time . With regards to the ventilation system, we have to completely agree with you and we are in the process of rectifying this issue. The age of the building and limitations to our kitchen have given us a few challenges when it comes to this concern.
On a more positive note, we will be opening a sister property immediately across the street from the cafe, which will cater much more to gluten free options and "on the go/healthy food choices, inclusive of vegan options. This will be launching spring 2013 and we look forward to seeing you again at that time. A full bakery/retail and catering component will be housed at this property. We strive to accommodate all dietary preferences and we thank you for the suggestions of falafel suggestion. I can be reached directly at the cafe as well and I always welcome to opportunity to grab a coffee and chat with folks about their favourite food choices. Thank you again & Happy New Year - Kindly, Bobbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have gone here a couple times for lunch. Great atmosphere, friendly service and I have a weakness for the mac and cheese! Other food I have tried has been delishious as well. Can't wait for my next visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJointTeam, Owner at The Joint Cafe, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We promise to keep the Mac & Cheese on the menu for your next visit! We will be opening a second property right across the street for your take away needs as well. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joint Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Joint Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Joint Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.