We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak was Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of shakespeare arms

shakespeare arms
harvard st, Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 319 Restaurants in Guelph
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Steak was Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Went here recently on a date actually lol.

Very relaxed and cozy atmosphere, no pressure, styled like an old English pub.

Service was great and friendly. Very attentive, the waitresses were cracking jokes with us

Ordered the steak specials, was quick and absolutely delicious. Covered in bacon and what seemed like pears. Portion size was big, veggies and steak were cooked to perfection. Sauce was yummy. With drinks, beer and a very amazing steak dinner times two was under 60 bucks so value wise, it was great as well

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    34
    19
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belgrave
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A great pub, good food, service and entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Went to this pub while in the city with a couple of friends on a Friday night...had no trouble getting a table even though the place was busy. The waitress was quick and attentive and we had our drinks in no time...we ordered the fish and chips which was the special and also ordered a starter salad....salad were there immediately and quite ample...didn't even have time to finish them when the main meal appeared...my friend decided to order some wings as well....just a couple of minutes later they were there....talk about quick service...will definitely be back to this delight of a place in the future

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Menu OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Flat bread was good. Lasagne wqas too spicy.
Waitress gave us the wrong bill.
Service was just OK
A litt;e over-priced for what we got.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Authentic British Pub with Great Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

After living in the UK for several years, we returned to Guelph yearning for some authentic pub grub. We rediscovered the Shakespeare Arms - a truly authentic pub experience in all seasons.

First off, they have a nice patio for summer time. Sometimes when the university students return, it does get very busy, but during the summer and midweek, it's not so noisy.

Inside there is a cosy fireplace - great for cold winter nights to go in and have a pint sitting by the fire.

Locals frequent the SA just as they do in the UK - you begin to see some of the same folks who enjoy an after-work pint and share stories with friends. They have a great selection of beers, ales, bitters and real ales, as well as IPA and hard ciders. Many are local and several are imported from the UK and Ireland. They are the best prices around for jugs and pints.

As for the food, it's great - all original pub fare. The steak and kidney or steak and mushroom pies are the best in Guelph. They always come with a choice of potato and a side salad. Salads and wraps are fresh and substantial. Have never been disappointed with their hamburgers - real homemade burgers - the Canadian Style is our favourite. The curry dishes are delicious (yes, curry is now a staple at all British pubs). My daughter loves the bangers and mash. Every time we've ordered the fish and chips (special on Fridays), it has arrived piping hot with crispy homestyle chips and coleslaw. Malt vinegar is always available, as is HP sauce.

It's a great pub to go during the evening with friends to enjoy a plate of nachos and a beer.

We've always had friendly service. There are TV screens situated around the restaurant for watching sporting events. Up in the back room there is a dart board with weekly darts for those who enjoy that. The half-timbered look with the dark interior is reminiscent of old UK pubs.

They do take reservations, which is recommended during busy weekends or when the university kids return in September; it's a popular spot for parents to take their kids out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The British pub experience with great service and yummy comfort food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a must-do when we pass through Guelph annually. We always go with a large group and have always had great service and excellent food. As for WorldTraveller 448's review, I couldn't disagree more. There are 2 people in our group with celiac disease and we have always received very specific answers about ingredients and staff have been extremely accommodating about adapting side orders. Indoors is typical dark, traditional pub decor but the dining on the deck is an option in nice weather.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed shakespeare arms also viewed

 

Been to shakespeare arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage shakespeare arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.