We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hockey Sushi

Hockey Sushi
259 Grange Road | Unit 15, Guelph, Ontario ON N1E, Canada
(519) 822-8838
Improve this listing
Ranked #207 of 319 Restaurants in Guelph
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Food is ok, but the service is awful. We come here regularly and expect it to be different... It isn't, but the other all you can eat sushi place in Guelph is worse! The waitresses are rude and incredibly slow. Tip: order your whole meal as soon as you sit down and ask to take your drink order... Because they will never come back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    9
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The menu has lots of selections. My daughter is a vegetarian and there is lots for her to eat. Just remind them when you order a veggie dish not to put on same plate as meat dish...as fish eggs can get on the veggie dish.
The food is brought to the table in good time...not too fast...which is good as you want to enjoy your time...you do not go for Japanese to be rushed.
We have been many times and will continue to eat here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
374 helpful votes 374 helpful votes
“"Filling" minus the language barrier.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Typical Canadian/Asian interior but clean and pretty well kept. There is always an open table which could be construed as a bad thing. Drinks came swiftly from our struggling waitress, and then it came time to order, I wish I had a pocket translator to say the least. We'd order a big spread of food for the table an it would sporadically show up through the evening, round two, more mis-communication with the waitress, our food would show up with less frequency but the strange thing was that we'd still be getting stuff from the first round, but some stuff never came, it seemed like a progressively systematic decline in service, quality and patience, by the time round three came her heart just wasn't into it anymore and it felt purposeful in an attempt to shoo us out ? The food is just ok, nothing special at all, not terrible but not great. I have been a couple of times but to be honest there are way better Sushi joints in Guelph, too bad really. Hopefully things change for the better and soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Must avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Food is taste less and boring. The restaurant is dirty and unkept. Service is non existent. Avoid at all cost.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrific !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I went to eat with my friends, and the place is absolutely disgusting !! the waitresses had their hair hanging everywhere, which made me question their cleanliness... The waitresses were also very rude! it was slightly busy when we went, the staff were always busy and we never got our water or tea refilled once... completely neglected from their eyes. My friends and I will never return to this horrible place !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hockey Sushi also viewed

Guelph, Ontario
Guelph, Ontario
 

Been to Hockey Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hockey Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.