We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always stay at Best Western” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   716 Gordon Street, Guelph, Ontario N1G 1Y6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always stay at Best Western”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our plans were in Kitchener, when it turned out that both the Kitchener and Cambridge location Best Westerns were fully booked, we booked this one in Guelph. A bit of a drive from where we needed it, but totally worth it. Thankyou Best Western.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for the kind comments, it is encouraging to hear positive and kind words from our guests. We strive to provide a superior customer experience and we are elated to read your review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    51
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
47
29
14
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Mom, dad, and two daughters studying in Guelph and Waterloo reunited for a day and stayed here at a really good rate. The room could not have been cleaner and the beds were supremely comfy, with crisp high-quality sheets. Although we were in the wing nearest the street, we could hear no traffic and had a great snooze. As well, breakfast was excellent. Alas, we didn't have a chance to try the attractive-looking pool.

On the other hand, at check-in the desk guy went beyond efficient to the point of being abrupt. The corridor that led to our room was 1970s in aroma and appearance--did we just miss Alice Cooper? One of the lamps between the beds didn't work. There was only a single night table, and it was placed between the beds, which meant that the people sleeping on the outside had no place for tissues or a glass of water that might be needed during the night. The TV, although it was a digital flat-screen, had a 1950s picture with lots of snow and a squished image. Outside the patio doors was a narrow grassy area separating the building from the parking lot; this area was plain scruffy, thoroughly littered with beer caps and cigarette butts. Poor signage makes it possible to get locked into a corridor when trying to walk through the hotel to the front desk area, meaning you have to go outside and circumnavigate the entire building to reach your destination.

To be clear, though, the room itself was great and the overall experience was very positive and enjoyable. We would stay again in a flash, and probably will in a couple of weeks. Maybe by then hotel staff will have addressed some of my whinings.

Room Tip: CAA members always get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for the review and we appreciate your feedback and find your input of paramount importance on our development and continual improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed here twice, a year apart, on two separate business trips.

The first time, the swimming pool was inexplicably closed for repairs. When I came back nearly a year to the day later, same deal: pool closed for repairs.

I asked the hotel staff what was up and was met with shrugs. So, basically, no pool. The fitness room is not much bigger than a closet.

The concrete 70s architecture makes the hotel feel a lot like the South building residences on campus a few blocks north. Oddly, several people in Guelph told me there was a plan to convert this Best Western into student housing, so maybe that's appropriate.

This place is handy to campus but would be a long walk to downtown.

The rooms were... okay. Nothing horrible, just a bit tired.

The free breakfast buffet was depressing.

After four days, I walked over to the much-nicer new Delta hotel and was quoted a government rate that was the same as the Best Western's standard rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your candor, it is unfortunate your experience was not up to your expectations, and for this we greatly apologize. We strive to provide the utmost in service and standards, and take your comments very seriously as a tool for our improvement. We sincerely hope you enjoy your next visit to Guelph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

For a very good price - CAA member price we enjoyed our stay at the Best Western plus hotel. The outdoor heated pool was a plus and the good included breakfast. Excellent service by the front desk person. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are going to African Lion Safari and Aberfoyle Antique market.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at our establishment. It is gratifying to know your experience was positive, and we always welcome CAA members with open arms. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The room was nice, and every staff person I met was very professional and helpful. The room looked great and the bed was very comfortable, however my sink and bath did not look clean. There was a powerful scent of dead mouse on the second floor near the restaurant. WiFi was weak, and kept cutting out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel may appear older on the outside, but the rooms have been nicely updated. The two-queen rooms are quite large and very comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, but they have a long mirror with a light and a power outlet in the room, so great for multiple people getting ready in the morning. The hotel is a drive to downtown, but is literally right beside the university, so easy walk if you are visiting U of G. There are also restaurants and a plaza within walking distance. I recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room I stayed in was clean and comfortable. Nice view from the second floor balcony facing Gordon St. Trees help to block view of the traffic. University located directly across the street. Convenient place to stay for any events at the university.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 716 Gordon Street, Guelph, Ontario N1G 1Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Guelph
#5 Business Hotel in Guelph
#6 Family Hotel in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is conveniently located directly adjacent to the University of Guelph, government offices and close to commercial, retail and residential areas, all in a beautiful park-like setting in Guelph, Ontario. The Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is ideal for the business traveler with all the value added amenities you've come to expect including complimentary high speed wireless internet access, free local, calling card access and toll-free calls and a complimentary hot breakfast.For the leisure guest, traveling through Southwestern Ontario, the Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph boasts a seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck from May to September and plenty of free parking for your accommodation needs. With ample meeting/conference space and superior catering facilities, the hotel is ideal for any social or business function. When travelling through southwestern Ontario, consider the Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph for your next reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Brock Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Guelph
Ramada Guelph
Guelph Ramada
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre Guelph, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.