We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with a Unique Lobby and Restaurant layout.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Scottsdale Dr., Guelph, Ontario N1G 3E7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay with a Unique Lobby and Restaurant layout.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Visiting Waterloo with kids we were looking for a night out away from the hussle of the city with a place to shop in the weekend…Decided on Holiday inn Guelph…No regrets…. A great place to stay ……with ample parking space with unique lobby and restaurant layout. Adding to that the rooms were great, noted some upgrades taking place . Staff from the front desk, to restaurant to room service added a touch to the stay. This place would be even better when once the upgrades are done….Try it out yourself and enjoy it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Shiyana A,

The management of Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre would like to offer our sincerest thanks for your glowing review of our property and for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have you return on your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    46
    33
    13
    7
See reviews for
62
35
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

my girlfriend and I stayed here as we were in Guelph visiting friends. The hotel has had major renovations since we last stayed and is awesome!

location was amazing, there's a ton of great restaurants right across the street and its right by the mall.

we will definitely stay here whenever we're in Guelph.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear crusko,

Thank you for your recommendation of the Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre, we are always delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we are happy to hear that you would return on your next trip to Guelph. We will look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a group and all of us enjoyed our stay very much. The check in was smooth, he hotel wasn't overcrowded and it was quiet. We stayed a few days, as we were attending an event nearby. Our room was clean, and spacious. There were two double beds, a desk, chair, bedside tables, a TV, plus a mini fridge. The bathroom was also very clean, they provided you with shampoos and conditioners and many towels. The staff was very friendly and they never bothered any guests. The hotel had a pool, a business meeting room, and probably more, though we hadn't used any of that so there may be more recreational activities available. Overall, our stay was perfect. We had a great experience here and we will definitely come back if we are ever nearby again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Dear CubaBuddySerbia,

We are delighted to hear that your group enjoyed their time with us, and that your rooms suited your needs. Our hotel is currently undergoing some exciting renovations, so your next great experience will be complemented by a fresh new look!

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Group of three stayed for one night. We stayed in a room with glass doors facing the pool.

Pros:
One lady I spoke with at the front desk was very polite and helpful

Cons:
Our room was facing the pool so there was no way to get any fresh air into the room. The (very old and barely working) air conditioner only vented air from the lobby directly above the pool.
Our room was dirty, the bathroom filthy. The toilet seat was covered in either dried urine or vomit, we weren't sure which one. The bathtub was dirty, and the drain was plugged. I took a shower and the water was above my ankles the entire time, it took 10 minutes after I shut of the water to drain.
Beds were small and uncomfortable.
Our room was facing the lobby and not at all sound proof. You could hear every word of conversations in the lobby, and the noise didn't die down until after 3am.
We found it very difficult to breath in our room, to the point I was unable to sleep at all. One member of our group had a very bad allergy attack. I called the front desk to complain, they said they had newly renovated carpet and that must be the problem. They're response when I said we were having trouble breathing was "well what do you want us to do about it?" I asked to switch rooms but they said that wasn't possible. We had planned to stay two nights as we were attending a convention taking place in the hotel but we had to check out, it was impossible to sleep in the room.

Overall this has been the worst experience if any hotel I have ever stayed in, stay anywhere but here.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not facing the pool or you will be kept up all night by the noise. You can re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear CactusM,

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your overnight stay. While our atrium style hotel does have rooms overlooking the lobby and pool areas, a large number of rooms do have windows that open to the outside. Many guests like to be able to sleep with a window open, and outside facing rooms can be requested during the reservation process, or at check in. We will always do our best to accommodate our guests' preferences.

All of our guestroom floors have recently undergone extensive renovations, including new carpeting and wallpaper. You may have noticed the fresh appearance of our meeting rooms as well, which were completed shortly before the convention you attended.

Your comments regarding general cleanliness and maintenance issues have been communicated to the appropriate departments, and your concerns will be addressed.

Should you attend this convention again in the future, we would gladly welcome you back. Please feel free to call the hotel directly and ask for "in house reservations" so we can make sure your room preferences are noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I've stayed here in June and it was pretty good but I was cautious reading the last few reviews. I had a 2-night stay last week for work. Everything was on par with every other HI I've stayed at so there were no real issues with my stay. Only comment would be to keep the bar open past 10pm.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear WanderingNewfie,
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. The hotel is undergoing a renovation and the transformation covers guestrooms, banquet rooms and public areas. There is minimal impact to guest comfort as construction is limited to daylight hours and most is not visible to hotel guest. We do hope to welcome you back soon so you can see our progress!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This hotel is open up all 5 floors on one side to the pool and it is very, very loud. The pool doesn't close until 10pm and there was yelling and screaming from the pool all night long. I was traveling with young children who were not able to fall asleep until 10pm because of the noise.

The hotel itself is just okay. Our "premium" room was not at all premium, just small and mediocre. I found an old bottle cap sitting on the TV stand when we got to our room so the room cleaning is not great. Doors are paper thin - you can hear everything in the hallways. The TV remote hardly worked at all and the TV speakers put out a very distorted sound if you turned up the volume at all (which we had to do to hear the TV over the screaming at the pool).

We definitely will NOT be staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear MomOf2Girlies,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your experience and providing us with the feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced. Our three star property is one of only few Holiday Inn hotels in Canada that was originally constructed with the unique atrium style lobby with room balconies overlooking the restaurant and pool. The hotel has a number of rooms that have outside windows, and we gladly try to accommodate guests’ requests for these rooms whenever possible. It is our standard to provide exceptional service throughout the hotel to all our guests. We have taken your feedback into consideration and thank you for providing it. We hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future and experience the level of service that we continuously strive to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night - New Year's Eve - 5th floor. We basically just needed a place to sleep as we were attending a family NYE party. We will never stay here again. The beds were terrible - so hard felt like a slab of concrete. No blankets on bed - sheet and bedspread only. Woke up in the middle of night cold and had to turn the heat way up. The bathroom is so tiny you barely have room to move and no bathroom counter space. We could not find an ice machine that worked on any of the floors, and in fact some floors had NO ice machine at all even though there was an "Ice Machine" sign posted. We did not use the pool area so cannot comment on that. Elevators are extremely slow and smelled like dogs. The hotel itself was fairly clean, but the amenities in this hotel definitely make this a spot we will not return to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Reene1956,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your experience and providing us with the feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced. It is our standard to provide exceptional service throughout the hotel to all our guests. We have taken your feedback into consideration and thank you for providing it. We hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future and experience the level of service that we continuously strive to provide!

Wishing you all the best for 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 601 Scottsdale Dr., Guelph, Ontario N1G 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Guelph
#6 Business Hotel in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service hotel in Guelph with a large heated indoor pool and free parking! Our Guelph hotel is only minutes away from downtown Guelph, and many Guelph area attractions such as the Old Quebec Street Shoppes and the world famous Church of Our Lady Immaculate. We are ideally located close to all major arteries, and a short distance from the University of Guelph campus, Linamar, Monsanto, Mandel Scientific, Cargill, Nestle Waters, OMAFRA, Syngenta, CFIA, Semex, Eli Lily, The Cooperators, Sleeman Breweries, Danby, Hitachi, Owens Corning, Target, Walmart, Bayer Crop, McNeil Consumer, TC Industries, Tiger Drylac, Denso and Skyjack. Located directly beside Stone Road Shopping Centre and a variety of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel And Conference Centre
Guelph Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.