We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our hosts were delightful, our room was great & the food was fabulous, wish we had stayed longer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casilda House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casilda House B&B to your Saves list
Casilda House B&B
18 Imlay St, Dunalley, Tasmania 7177, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunalley B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our hosts were delightful, our room was great & the food was fabulous, wish we had stayed longer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, the restoration that Tony has done on the 1890 cottage is superb & Kathy has furnished & decorated it with sublime tastefulness. Situated right on the lake with views past their house out over the water; it was warm, comfortable, very well appointed & above all, friendly. We would certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A great location if you prefer not to stay in cities. Casilda House is a lovely waterfront b&b about 35 minutes from Port Arthur and 50 minutes from Hobart City Centre. It’s also convenient for the airport (about 40 minutes away). We had a very spacious double room with a waterfront view. Kathy and Tony are very hospitable and made our stay very comfortable: from a welcoming cup of tea and cakes to complimentary port, sherry and chocolates around a roaring log fire.

A good breakfast set us up nicely for the day. There’s not a lot of choice for dinner in the area. The one night that we stayed we ate at the hotel – not a good choice! We had a very indifferent meal there and wished we opted for Kathy’s suggestion of getting a takeaway – guests have use of the kitchen in the separate guest accommodation.

We spent a ½ day at the Port Arthur Historical Site – well worth it, could easily have spent a day had we had time. Lots to do in the area: from water activities including sailing, fishing, sea cruises around the islands to general sightseeing.

Casilda House is a very relaxing place to stay which we can highly recommend – one night wasn’t enough!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We booked one night over the internet due to the location and were so pleased that we decided to stay an extra night. We didn't meet Kathy until breakfast, but Tony, her husband is an excellent host and full of really useful information. As the car we had booked proved smaller than we had expected and did not comfortably hold our luggage, they kept our cases for a couple of days, allowing us to take a minimum in travel bags, and tour the island. The rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean. each one is different. The views of the sunrise and sunset are fabulous as is the breakfast! Their kindness and generosity(home made bread snack to take away on our departure) make this a must to return to.

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

It was our first night in Tasmania and Casilda House is an easy drive from Hobart Airport.
Tony and Kathy have renovated this homestead type house to accommodate three sets of B & B customers and they live in the adjacent house. Both are on the sea, which appears to be more like an inland estuary here.
You will never find a more friendly couple running a B & B business. And the standard is high! We wanted room 3 for some reason (reading the Trip Advisor reviews) but we had room 1. Great change of choice though - from the welcome with tea and home made cookies to the brilliant breakfast - it was all good!
A lovely taditional lounge, with log fire, to come back to after dinner with complimentary sherry or port. (incidently - get use to the new names - Sherry is now "APERA" in Australia, Port - I can't remember! But try this Apera - it is nothing like Spanish Sherry - much more akin to a fine dessert wine)
Tony and Kathy pointed us towards the Waterfront Cafe for dinner, and if you are lucky enough to be there on a day when this establishment is open - try the fish (or seafood) pie - probably the tastiest meal we had in Tasmania! The Bream Creek wines there are also so good!
(But UK wine tasters will need to get used to Tassie wine prices!)
Tony spent the whole evening with us helping to plan the rest of our 9 day stay in Tasmania - so helpful - full of dry humour fun - information - and probably the best host we have ever had! Shame it was only one night!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We spent a couple of very enjoyable nights at Kathy and Tony's brilliant B&B.
We were overwhelmed by the welcome and what there was on offer, so nice to be able to use the kitchen! Lovely roaring fire in the evenings and it was nice to sit and chat with our hosts.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I stayed at Casilda house with my hubby for a night when we visited Port Arthur recently. We simply love this place. Very pretty house. We got the room with windows facing the waterfront. Unfortunately, we didn't spend much time in the room in the day as we stayed at Port Arthur for the historic ghost tour.
What we love about Casilda house:
1) Kathy and Tony are the most amazing hosts around. Extremely friendly and considerate. We were felt bad that we made them worry unduly for our safety as we didn't inform them that we will be joining the Port Arthur ghost tour (last minute decision). Kathy even tried to reach me on my mobile phone which unfortunately had no signal on Port Arthur!!
And their family dog... pretty and friendly!
2) Fantastic breakfast! We felt like king and queen coz' we had the entire breakfast spread to ourselves.
3) Room was very nicely decorated. Bed and pillows were nice and soft. Spacious and clean. Had a good night's sleep.
4) Really well decorated living room, dining room and kitchen! I love the stove. Looks really classic.
5) Location. Quiet. By the water front.
6) Real value for money.

What more could one possibly asked for?

If I had more time, I would have stayed on to chit chat with Kathy for the whole afternoon. She's just so... NICE.

And if I ever return to tassie again, I'm going to stay with her for a week. Maybe she will teach me how to make some fruit jam and preserves... yummy.

Room Tip: ask for the water front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Kathy and Tony are to be commended for restoring this beautiful cottage. Everything seems to have been considered. We were fortunate enough to have the whole cottage to ourselves. Tony was preparing the final touches on our arrival including the log fire. There was port or sherry available to enjoy after dinner having used the fully equipped kitchen with gas cooker. I can't recall seeing gas cooking in recent years, everything beng replaced with ever so safe and ever so slow electric cooking. The cottage is right on the water with available kayak (which we did not use unfortunately). Cooked breakfast was fantastic! Home made bread, home made jams, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes and, what was really terrific, Kathy had even sought vegetarian sausages for our special request. This was greatly appreciated. The kids loved playing mini tennis game as well as the extensive playground right next door. I would unreservedly recommend and want to go back! 

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casilda House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casilda House B&B

Address: 18 Imlay St, Dunalley, Tasmania 7177, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Dunalley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunalley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casilda House B&B offers historic waterfront bed and breakfast accommodation at Dunalley, South East Tasmania. A quiet oyster and Cray fishing village within half an hour of the Port Arthur historic site. .Walking trails, boat tours, Pristine surf and swimming beaches are nearby. Have a game of golf, play tennis, fish from the jetty. Enjoy a coffee or lunch on the deck at the neighbouring Waterfront Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Casilda House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casilda House B&B Dunalley, Australia - Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casilda House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.