We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Beach

Crystal Beach
Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Toronto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent little town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was my first time in Crystal Beach. We rented a little cottage and spent 2 nights there. The beach was nice, and more importantly the people were great. There is no real nightlife in Crystal Beach, however there are a few bars. Overall this is a great place for a week or weekend with the family. LCBO's are far, so make sure you stock up!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    14
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good all around beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Decent beach, much different from when you were a kid. The sand can get drifting pretty good. Calm water.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Mediocre at most...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The one-and-a-half hour drive to Fort Erie was fine, given it was a weekend, we thought it was traffic all the way.
We found a parking spot, but farther down the road since the parking area for this beach was packed. Some were even American plates, so I guess they drove all the way here to relax as well.
The place was packed, we found a spot to lay down a couple of beach towels, our cooler and put up the beach umbrella. Kids everywhere, running around, frisbee and playing catch - the typical father-son bonding, it's all there. A lineup is seen from small canteen selling burgers, fries and pop. And yes, there's ice cream too...
The water was fine and cold, clean and calm but what brought down my review rating was that the rich ones with their sailboats and fishing boats - are anchored not far away from shore. So you can smell the smoke, the gas, the engine oil coming out them them. It was terrible. We had to move farther away.
Enough said, you get the picture...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely week at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband, myself and our 2 kids (8 and 2) spent a wonderfully relaxing week in a lovely cottage very near to the beach, last summer.
It was our first time visiting and we were amazed at the clear water, soft white sand and quiet beach community with streets lined by charming beach cottages! The beach gets very crowded on weekends so you must arrive early for a spot, but during the weekdays things quiet down significantly and it is peaceful and lovely. The water is shallow, clean, and warm - absolutely perfect for little ones who like to play at the water's edge. Everything you might need, is only a short walk away. There are ice cream shops, pizza, well equipped variety stores, beach stores, restaurants etc..
And just to clarify a previous comment, there is absolutely NO fee to enter the beach. There is pay parking, if you need..but beach entry is always free!
We will definitely be back this year!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Beach, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The beach and the town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Crystal beach is always packed in July and August, so I visited in April/may/June 2012 and again in September/October. It is clean, shallow, and safe. I really enjoyed my days there.
The town strip on Erie road is lively during the summer tourist season. South Coast and Palmwood restaurants are open all year round. Fun place, wonderful for families and groups of friends. If you park in the beach parking lot, there is a 5 dollar change.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Beach also viewed

Stevensville, Fort Erie
Port Colborne, Ontario
 
Fort Erie, Ontario
 

Been to Crystal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.