We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Electrical up to code?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Comfort Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hospitality Drive, Fort Erie, Ontario L2A 6G1, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fort Erie
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Electrical up to code?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is our first visit since the name change back to Comfort Inn. Quite obvious from the grounds that a major remodelling was a work in progress. We had a newly renovated room. The construction dust and small particles in the room was a bit of a bother especially when we turned on the heat and it blew up into the room from the grate of the heater.

My one major concern is that I am not sure this hotel is up to code in some areas of the electrical. Our room had an electrical outlet by the bedside table that did not work. However there was an extension code that ran from the opposite wall by the coffee machine under the baseboard to the bedside table. What concerned me was the extension cord was a two prong type and at least one of the items plugged into it was a three prong. Meaning the third prong was exposed. This extension cord certainly didn't look commercial grade to me. We unplugged it during our stay.

The room appeared smaller than our first visit prior to the construction. That may be do to the larger headboards and armoire combination and the larger flat screen TV.

The new shower enclosures are very nice to look at however for taking a shower it was rather cramped. The bathtub is full size. Great beds and pillow choices. Very quiet.

This is a smoke free environment. However on the ground floor there was a distinct smell of an incense like sandalwood odour. Not overly unpleasant however could be bothersome for someone with allergies.

Something different was the vending machines. They are chock full of healthy alternatives. If you wish a Coke or Pepsi they are for sale at the front desk. These machines accept credit and debit cards. ATM in the lobby. Staff appeared friendly. Breakfast was the usual Comfort Inn offering without decaffeinated coffee.

Pet Friendly. One suggestion is to have outdoor garbage receptacles at the outside entrances so a pet owner can deposit a baggie if necessary instead of walking all the way around to the front door. A bit of a walk especially in lousy weather.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
20
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is a great option for a night's or two stay. The lobby is very fresh and well decorated, the rooms are small but cozy and well appointed with very comfortable bed(s) with well laid out bathrooms. The complimentary breakfasts are do it yourself but have a good variety to choose from. The staff were very personable and helpful and my only issue was finding it. After seeing the sign from the QEW and following the designated ramp I couldn't find the next sign in order to get to the hotel. It took a few minutes of driving to actually find it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We come to Fort Erie frequently and we always have stayed here ; We have watched all the changes that have transpired since the new owners took it over ; 2 nights ago we were in one of the newly renovated rooms ... Wow ! fantastic . The whole place is like brand new ..The breakfast area ( which has lots of choices ) is beautiful and the lobby is modern and cheery ; The Motel is now back to being a " Comfort Inn " and I would recommend it to anyone !!!!! It's not totally finished yet and it has been a lengthy process but well worth it .

Our compliments to the new owners !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I recently visited the Econo Lodge in Fort Erie. This hotel is under major renovation. We were in an old room, which was a bit run down and definitely in need of updates, however, I did find it to be nice and clean. The bed was rather uncomfortable and upon looking at the mattress (I always check for bedbugs...where ever I go!) after pulling off the sheets, I noticed that the mattress material was torn along the side and falling apart. I was a little nervous about sleeping on it, but it ended up being okay.
The continental breakfast consisted of 3 types of cereal, frozen waffles, bagels and toast, apples and muffins.
The hotel is also pet friendly, which was awesome, as I brought my 3 pups with me. It's so hard to find a hotel that accepts more than 1 or 2 dogs. I was thrilled that I found this one that did!!!! There is a lot of grassy areas to walk the dogs and the hotel is well lit at night.
Location is fine and close to Niagara Falls and Niagara on the Lake.
The price per night was very good...not too expensive.
There is free WiFi and lots of cable channels to chose from.
All in all...we had a very pleasant stay at the Econo Lodge. I'd like to return again once the renovations are made.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkhill, Ont
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is being fixed up and although still under construction was clean and quiet. The main disadvantage to this hotel is finding it. The price was great so any problems finding it was well worth the effort. We have been to this place before but it is now under new management and they seem to be trying to get it up to better standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are under new ownership and moving forward to becoming a new model Comfort Inn. Our lobby, our guest rooms, and our new hot and cold breakfast area will be opening within the next few weeks. We thank you for your patience during this time. On a note, we are addressing the difficulties are guests are experiencing finding us through a new signage program on the Highways and in the town itself. We look forward to your next visit.

Anne Matiuschuk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Pet Friendly!! WiFi good.

This place seemed deserted on our arrival as the parking lot was empty. Booking in was quick and efficient as we had made a reservation weeks ago.

Rooms are clean. Only the necessities as would befit an economy hotel.

Free breakfast is very limited. Again Econo Lodge says it all for the reasonable prices.

We wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

There aren't many options in town and this one is 2nd best with 1/2 the price. I was there on a Fri. and Sat. night and only a few rooms were booked. It was very quiet even though next to a highway. The actual location is an unusual one to get to, although plentiful signs. Service was good, place clean. Average comfort. It was very cold weather and the room and lobby were warm but the hallways were ice cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1 Hospitality Drive, Fort Erie, Ontario L2A 6G1, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Fort Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fort Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Fort Erie Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.