We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay for a hockey game...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1485 Garrison Road, Fort Erie, Ontario L2A 1P8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Fort Erie
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One night stay for a hockey game...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel this past Saturday, as our team was playing another Tyke team from Buffalo. The entrance to the hotel was nice and very large, and check in was easy. We were a group of 17 families with 7 year old boys, and the pool was a good energy release area.
The rooms were typical hotel rooms. Clean, two Double beds, standard bathroom. In room coffee maker and anything else was available through the front desk.
We used the party suite on the 4th floor to have pizza for the kids, mini sticks and the occasional dance breakout of Psy's Gangnam Style.
We cleaned the party room after we were done and were thanked by the staff, as we were the first hockey team that was concerned with how we left the area. The staff also mentioned that we were the first team to actually care about our kids to have them in bed by 9pm, and not have them running the halls until the wee hours.
Great stay and the only reason I am rating it 4 stars is because the front desk denied a late checkout, even though many teams requested this detail when booking their reservation. The website indicated a late checkout was available upon request and availability, but the front desk clerk on Sunday morning had zero interest in accommodating.
All in all, a great place for hockey teams as it's a 1 minute walk to the arena, it's that close.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    39
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
23
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very clean rooms as well as the pool.
Wonderful fresh food @ breakfast and dinner.
Staff our very friendly as well.

Rooms could use an update, like new carpet etc. but otherwise we had no complaints.
It was nice to get away and relax in a room with a fireplace.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the #3 so you don't hear the traffic in the morning. M-F Buses pick up as earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The ownership has changed since I last visited, but the service and comfort is still the same. Breakfast was made to order and substantial for anyone. Rooms were good. Lack of Minibar facility was a dampner

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This property is the old Holiday Inn. Front desk staff was friendly.

Rooms are somewhat pricey.

25” tube type TV with about 40 channels. The TV picture was OK but not great.
The work area was a small square table with no lamp close by, and a single hidden outlet near the TV.

Beds are comfortable, and linens are fairly new and clean.

Overall, the room was clean, but I can’t say the same thing about the glasses and coffee cups, which were glass. I marked a glass, and the sanitary cover, which I do in many hotels. The glass was left on the sink, and the cover was thrown in the trash. When I returned, the same glass was there, with the sanitary cover from the trash can on it. I have no idea what was used to wipe the glass clean, and the sanitary cover from a garbage can says it all. Now I don’t trust the “in room” coffee maker either. This is unacceptable and my reason for dropping the score on cleanliness.

Bathroom was OK. Water pressure, and hot water was good.

The internet connection is surprisingly included in the room price, unlike Breakfast which is not. For the prices they’re charging for rooms, you’d think they could throw in a few bagels and coffee. There’s a Tim Horton’s, Mickey D’s, and a couple of other places just down the road toward the river.

This isn’t a bad place to stay, but it’s not the best by far.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Average hotel but convenient location. Service was fair. We weren't exactly made to feel welcome. Also strange to check out pool towels. If there was another convenient option we'd go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Have gone for 3 yrs straight in July/Aug. Lovely place about 3 blocks from beach on Lake Erie. Nice indoor pool and hot tub. Afordable restaurants and golf a minute away. Only a 20 min. drive to Niagara-on-the-Lake or Niagara Falls which is much more beautiful than the American side.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Offers nice rooms at a reasonable rate. Staff is friendly and helpful, but a little unsure about the specials, so be patient and ask about anything you are unsure of. Ultimately, they helped us out a lot and offered some great advice on deals.

Room Tip: A nice place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1485 Garrison Road, Fort Erie, Ontario L2A 1P8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Fort Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Fort Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Excellent Service Above Hotels In Fort Erie If quality service is important to you, then you belong at the award-winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of Fort Erie / Niagara Convention Centre. Our hotel near Niagara Falls is conveniently located near Queen Elizabeth Way to keep you connected to Buffalo, NY, Toronto and downtown Fort Erie, Ontario. Our hotel's location at the 'Gateway to Canada' ensures you'll find plenty of attractions nearby. Our hotel's location on Lake Erie and proximity to Niagara River and Niagara Falls gives you plenty of outdoor options. You can also visit the local wineries, tour Old Fort Erie, or go shopping at the many markets surrounding our hotel. Fort Erie Civic Centre Complex, Town Hall, Erie Personnel Corporation and other businesses are also convenient to our hotel's location. Fort Erie business travelers benefit from our corporate amenities, including seven meeting rooms, an exclusive Executive floor and a 24-hr Business Centre. We go beyond other hotels on Lake Erie to give you a comfortable stay. You can eat at Freeland's Restaurant and Lounge, play games in the Arcade and relax in the indoor, heated pool, whirlpool or sauna. Each room has triple-sheeted bedding, a large TV and a work area with free high-speed Internet access, and many rooms have mini-fridges, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and more. For an excellent stay in Fort Erie, Ontario, our hotel's staff invites you to the Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Canada, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Centre
Holiday Inn Fort Erie
Fort Erie Holiday Inn
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.