We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the weather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellefontaine Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellefontaine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bellefontaine Park
Save
You added Bellefontaine Park to your Saves list
28 Chemin de l'Eglise, 50520 Bellefontaine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
bazzarinmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“the weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed in cottage 1 for a week in June. The cottage was fine with all essentials for a very relaxing break. Our time there was enjoyable enough but was ruined somewhat by the foul weather. We managed to get out a couple of times between storms and it was nice to get back in doors of cottage 1. The views when able to see were wonderful and the buzzards and the kestrel (I think) flying above were fascinating to watch. I'm sure our time there would have been even better but for the weather as you are quite a ways away from any big town but the Magic shop is only 2 minutes up the road by car where you can buy any thing from French sticks to pipe fittings,hence the name! We also had a good few hours out at St.Hillaire market which was on Wednesday and about 40 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Bellefontaine Park. We stayed in cottage 3 it has stunning views over the country side, so many historic places to visit and excellent restaurants. The waterfalls at Mortain made a lovely walk and it is a pretty town, there is a large supermarket selling everything you need and the cakes in the patisserie are delicious. The cottage itself is very comfortable, warm and with an open fire. The people running the Club House were very friendly and accommodating. The Village is quaint with a charming church, the roads are easy to drive on and quiet.
We mostly filled our time with visiting the towns and attractions close by, Domfornt is a medieval town only 20minutes from the cottage. However we did travel further to Monte-St-Michel which was fascinating and well worth a visit. The Bayeux Tapestry is of course a must see. We found the circular cinema at Arramanches very moving and recommend it.
We look forward to visiting again in the summer to enjoy the long sandy beaches and carry on exploring this idyllic part of France. This holiday would suit all type including couples and families. My husband and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Cottage 3 includes, one double, one twin and a bunk room. But I believe there are smaller cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Wuerttemberg
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here as a family of four. Honestly, it caused stress for me because it was so far away from everything we wanted to see! It takes almost 2 hours to head out to St. Malo and then the other direction to the D-Day beaches...on those curvy, winding narrow roads, it was just too far to continue every single day. If you are looking for a simple quiet holiday with the security of "something from back home" (if you are British), then come here. The British owners are very helpful, although they did tell us they get more Dutch and other nationalities as well. The restaurant food was surprisingly good (some British fare) and VERY cheap. I did not realize though that you could only use the wireless internet in the main lodge area if you purchase food or drinks in there...you couldn't just sit at a table and go online we were told. The pinball machine and pool table were also not free and required coins.

Our cabin was a good size with a brand new bathroom. The rest was a bit worn and had a greasy film with dirty floors. I noticed they were trying to sell the cottages as vacation rentals...ours was for sale for 50k euro according to the pamphlet.

The views out of the window of our cottage were certainly amazing, as well as the views from anywhere on the property. You can walk to the small amusement park (for little ones) right across the main street (and you could sometimes hear the music). Mortain is also a gorgeous town with hiking and waterfalls...I know some of the other guests did some fishing, and I believe the staff cooked their fish for them as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

My partner and I were looking forward to a nice relaxing holiday and this cottage certainly provided us with that. The cottage (no:11) was clean, tidy and well equipped. We watched beautiful sunset's night after night, as my partner loves photography he was in his element! The bar had friendly staff and served reasonably priced good food. We spent a lovely day at MONT ST MICHEL, Beaches were within easy travel distance on very quiet roads. With all the open space around the cottages it would be an ideal and safe place for children to play.
My partner and I are in our early 20's. Facilities ideal for any age, will definately re-visit location and would recommend to our family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Travelled at October half term and stayed in Daphne (no 1). Amazing views from the property. Lovely, clean and comfortable (even the beds). The cottage sleeps 4 easily, the kitchen is new with all the things we needed and there is a lovely bathroom. The property was clean and brightly decorated. There is also a lovely wood burner.

The grouds are lovely and well maintained. There was so much space for the children to run and explore safely. The bar/restaurant on site was lovely, owners friendly and children welcome.

Journey to the park was easy and the roads all fairly quiet. About 30 minutes to the sea and we found a lovely beach at Carolles (about 40 minutes).

Would thoroughly recommend for a relaxing family holiday. Thanks, Lisa

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Cottages on site are well spaced out with a huge field for frisbee, kicking a ball about, or just rolling down the hill. From our bed, we could open the window and see for miles. Bedrooms were not huge, but comfortable and we fitted in two adults and four large teenagers. Good bar on the site with pool table and table football. We were there when the world cup was on and there were plenty of screens to watch the games. Quite a few locals came in to watch the final on a big screen they had setup along with a lavish free buffet.
We had trips out most days to places like Mont St Michel (don't miss it) which we saw in a spectacular thunderstorm which added to the atmosphere. There are also plenty of great beaches within an hours drive as well as cider farms, water falls and other sites.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

There can be no better view to wake up to then the one that greeted us on our first morning in Bellefontaine Park.. from our bed we could see across mile upon mile of rolling green hills, covered with lush woods lit by a bright summer sun hanging like in a picture book blue sky. We had arrived quite late the night before and been warmly greeted by the manager. Plus points of this site are the bar complete with table football, pool and music. As we had arrived during the end of the World Cup there was an air of expectation and anticipation around the site, and a special viewing screen had been erected outside. A BBQ and party were arranged but if you did not want to join in there was no problem. We had a relaxed and refreshing stay, the teens happily playing frizbee,, football or just madly running up and down the steep field which sweeps to the bottom of the site.. Chilling with glasses of warm red or chilled white gazing over the beautfiul countryside, stocking up with goodies from the local markets and creating gourmet picnics.. All in all a multi facted base with good access to Mont St Michel, Avranches.. The Cider Farm at Domfront, well worth a visit, and many places for happy diversion. We swam at Joulouville, despite the low tide we could frolic in the warm, clear water.

The accomadation was clean, well planned, and perfectly equipped for us to self cater or not depending on the mood of the day..Pretty walks nearby and friendly on site staff who were able to help with anything that cropped up, we had a great time. The pool is a useful place for cooling down and definitely good for little ones, not for length swimming though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellefontaine Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellefontaine Park

Address: 28 Chemin de l'Eglise, 50520 Bellefontaine, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Bellefontaine
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bellefontaine
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellefontaine Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.