We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bruce Restaurant

The Bruce Restaurant
700 Hespeler Road,, Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
519 622 5252
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 266 restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Gastropub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
ST THOMAS
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I enjoy eating there the staff is so friendly the food is so good and hot the pulled pork is to die you always leave there full keep up the good work

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    40
    18
    6
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cozy dining with delicious, well-prepared food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a gem of a restaurant nestled right off the 401 on Hespeler Road. Locals might miss it because it's part of a hotel, but Cambridge residents should know that this is one of the best restaurants in the area. The food isn't overly complicated, but what they do, they do well! The food is hearty, tasty, and leaves you feeling satisfied and eager for the next chance to try something new. The service also deserves note as it's reminiscent of "American" style service (you know, the kind where you don't have to ask for refills of your drink or where you're thanked heartily for coming in). The servers are attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable about the menu. It seems like they're always trying new things (brunches, BBQ, thanksgiving meal packages). Try it out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley G, Manager at The Bruce Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent dining experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything. I also want to thank you for specifically noting the excellent service that you received. The entire team here at The Bruce works really hard to ensure each and every guest is treated like a member of the family and wants for nothing while here.
Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Wesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Great food, good people, quite and intimate! The bbq is amazing! The chef was knowledgeable and the variety was great!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley G, Manager at The Bruce Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to our restaurant. We take great pride in ensuring we offer an exceptional overall dining experience and are pleased that you enjoyed your dinner. I'm particually glad to hear you tried our Patio BBQ and that the evenings BBQ Chef enhanced your overall experience.
Again, thank you for choosing to dine with us at The Bruce Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards,
Wesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently tried the Bruce Restaurant after seeing an advertisement for their BBQ on the patio. It was fantastic! The food was so delicious! And the service was great too! We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

There was nothing to dislike about this restaurant...excellent food, reasonably (competitively) priced and exceptional service!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bruce Restaurant also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to The Bruce Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bruce Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.