We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foods always good...service a bit hit and miss.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Thanh Viet-Thai Restaurant

Ben Thanh Viet-Thai Restaurant
10 Pinebush Road, Cambridge, Ontario N1R 5S4, Canada
519-622-7866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 266 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Foods always good...service a bit hit and miss.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Been going to the original in Hamilton for almost 10 years, and now we have one within a five minute walk of my house in Burlington so very familiar with this place.
Consistantly good Pho, great mango salad (not cheap on the mangoes or the cashews), lots of good curries.
Only thing I suggest is skip the pad thai (very pedestrian).
Only issue is the hit and miss service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    28
    7
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener,Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Local chain of Thai Restaurants.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This Cambridge site is close to the shopping mall as are the waterloo and Kitchener sites. My favourite lunch order is a med. or large bowl of Pho beef noodle soup. It is large enough for two people to share. Very good and makes for a filling and reasonable meal.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Went to this place based on good Tripadvisor scores, but was not happy with the visit:
1) the outside of the place is dodgy/dirty.
2) I placed a take out order for a specialty dish, "curry lamb with potatoes and onions", which sounded delicious. I was told to come back in 10 mins. Paid some 8 canadian bucks and came back in 10 mins. Went back to my hotel opened the container and it didn't look too bad and smelled pretty nice. That's a plus, presentation did not suck. There was a pile of rice on a greens, and a container with soupy substance. So here is where my frustration kicked in: there were only 3-4 pieces of meat, which were hard to chew and didn't taste all that great. Potatoes were not very present either, but there wereplenty of large pieces of onions.
3) Bottom line: I paid $8 for rice and curry soup with onions with a hint of meat. I assume there might be some good dishes on the menu, but the specialty dish I selected was sucky. Also, when I looked at the ticket on my bag it said "220 Y.Curry Goat", even though their menu clearly states that 220 is a Yellow Curry Lamb... I am happy it's not a cat... perhaps goat and lamb are trated the same in that kitchen...
That's all. Also, the fish and chips place next door is super oily, even though it's fun looking at how they fry the fish and fries in front of you.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good food, average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I've been here several times and have never been disappointed with the food. This is fresh, well prepared viet-thai food with the emphasis on vietnamese. Don't eat here if you have a nut allergy but for the rest of us, you will love the food. Service can be a little on the easy-going side but you can't beat the quality or the price. My wife & I were there for lunch yesterday (Sunday) and left with a bill of $13.00 plus tip. We had the shrimp roll appetizer with one mango/chicken salad and one chicken Asian salad. We had the "small" size and it was plenty adequate. The "large" comes on a platter!! Green tea was served in a big pot.

One complaint. The mango salad came without the chicken (clearly marked on the order slip) and we had to convince the food jockey to go get the chicken. It was great though and worth the wait. So was my Asian Salad. Quick, tasty, fresh and very affordable. What more can you ask for?

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The best Thailand food in the area. After two failed attempts to find edible Asian food in Guelph we will make the trip to Cambridge. Good ingredients, cooked properly, served hot = good flavourful food.

And No Buffet thank goodness.

By Ontario standards the food is very reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Thanh Viet-Thai Restaurant also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Ben Thanh Viet-Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Thanh Viet-Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.