We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langdon Hall

Langdon Hall
1 Langdon Drive, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 4R8, Canada
+1 519-740-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Langdon Hall is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 273 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $66
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Langdon Hall offers regional dishes and classical cuisine, served in an atmosphere of warmth and elegance. Meals are a pleasantly satisfying mingling of artistic display and hearty substance. The Dining Room at Langdon Hall has been awarded the coveted Five Diamond Award from AAA/CAA. Only a handful of restaurants from around the world earn this prestigious distinction. Come and taste the magic that acclaimed Chef Jason Bangerter is creating. With an exceptional wine cellar, Sommelier Kathleen Moore can recommend a wine pairing to go along with the wonderful seasonal menu. The dining room is a proud member of Ocean Wise, using sustainable seafood products and FeastON incorporating Ontario products and produce into the menu.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
464 reviews 464 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My dinner consisted of Albacore tuna in leek ash; my wife had Digby scallop soup with fingerling potatoes. She had butter lobster; I had Lamb cannon (medallions) in beet powder. Her dessert was a Macadamia nut ricotta, mine was a honey soufflé with Earl Grey Crème anglaise. The petit fours were also delicious. For breakfast my wife had the pumpkin frittata, I had the lobster ragout. Both were ample and sumptuous, and the coffee was absolutely first-rate. The meals complemented a very enjoyable night in Langdon Hall hotel.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    30
    17
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Ontario
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A great place to go for a special celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I took my daughter here for a special celebration. While I did find the wine a little pricey ($14 for the cheapest glass), the food was wonderful. The wait staff does not always pay close attention, the service is good. I would highly recommend this to anyone hoping to celebrate a special occasion!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDC
Top Contributor
450 reviews 450 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
“memorable dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My partner and I ate at Langdon Hall's restaurant for New Year's Eve, and while it was not your typical meal that is offered every day at this restaurant, I still thought it was a great culinary adventure with very welcoming service. (We also stayed at Langdon Hall for the night, but I'm doing a different review for the hotel and for the restaurant.)

We were able to talk to the manager beforehand, and got a amazing table right by a window at the front of the house overlooking the forest. Tables aren't normally set up in this area, but it still is a great seat. There were five courses, and they were all very delicious. But at the same time, with a restaurant like this, you're not just looking for good taste and execution, you're also looking for whether it was "special" or not. I would definitely say that a few of the dishes were "special," and that is a high compliment. The veal tartare and the braised lamb shoulder were particular standouts (pictures attached).

The service was also very personable and welcoming, without being too officious. Over the course of the meal, we got to know our server, and it made for a more memorable experience, that's for sure. The sommelier was also informative, and when we requested a bottle of one of the wines, it was in our room before we returned for the night.

While our dinner was not the typical dinner at Langdon Hall, we still had an amazing time and it made our New Year's very memorable. I can give that nothing less than five stars.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Buffet Breakfast Seriously”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

One of the joys of staying at a first class hotel is the leisurely morning breakfast. If the hotel is to be worthy of the price it charges, it requires going the distance for its patrons. My recent visit to Langdon hall, one of many over the past years, left me short. Langdon has always had a food table for guests to pick up the fresh baked croissants, jams, cheeses, fruits etc., basically a very nice continental breakfast. However, the real breakfast was in the short menu, that gave patrons the choices of, omelettes, eggs any style, waffles and the like, all cooked to order and served hot and with a smiling attendant. Alas, for reasons of expediency and cost, neither of which should be in the vocabulary of a serious first class establishment, we were relegated to a small table of cold baked beans, poached eggs that were finished, and french toast that any frenchman would speedily reject.
Before I visit again I will certainly be looking on the internet for the breakfast menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“An Afternoon Tea, An Experience To Share!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

An afternoon tea at Langdon Hall is expensive, but worth it! I had to do it at least once, if only to visit Langdon Hall, a place I have passed by as a child and wanted to visit. There are two types of afternoon tea, the only difference is with the Royal Tea you get a glass of champagne with your tea. A special celebration would best for the Royal Tea, a birthday, anniversary, or even retirement. An Afternoon tea consists of one tea, choose between thirteen varieties, all loose leaf, fresh tea leaves. The afternoon tea continues with freshly baked Buttermilk and Cranberry Scones served with Honey Butter (my favourite), House Made Preserves, and Devon Cream. There are a variety of Savories and Sweets served as well! Under savories we received Truffled Egg Salad on a Milk Roll, Black Forest Ham on Whole Wheat with Piccalilli and Honey, Watercress Mousse on Pumpernickel, and Smoked Salmon with Caper Butter on Challah. Under sweets, we received a Hazelnut Sable Linzer Cookie, a Vanilla Cream Gingerbread Sandwich, Maple Tart, and a piece of Fruit and Whiskey Cake. The next time I go, I will probably try the Organic Peppermint Herbal Tea, or the Lemon Verbena. Sometimes the names of these delicious savories and sweets could throw a person off trying them, don't let that stop you! Langdon Hall Staff were very attentive, and welcoming!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langdon Hall also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Langdon Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langdon Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.