We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time -- Will be Back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Hespeler Road | Highway #24, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 5L8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Harrow, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“First Time -- Will be Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Definitely a great spot to stay. Close to shopping and restaurants. Extremely helpful staff, when asked if we could see a room before booking, Matthew Look took the time - he was training a new staff member- to take us up to have a look. We had a king jr suite and it was spacious and very comfortable. Will be coming back here to stay the next time we have a reason to be in the area. The restaurant was well staffed with helpful and pleasant servers, really enjoyed our breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear as it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billie-Anne A, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review of the Cambridge Hotel & Conference Centre on Trip Advisor! It sounds like you had very nice time during your stay and I couldn’t be more thrilled to hear it! We have made some improvements to our breakfast buffet recently so any feedback we receive is much appreciated. I look forward to when you return to the area so that we can welcome you back to the hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    65
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
52
47
19
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We booked a meeting room for a group of 20. When we arrived a bit rushed we were promptly ushered into the room so that we could start to set up. They were quick and pleasant on the front desk. Our server came into the room to make sure we had everything we needed and followed up after the event to confirm if we needed any help. The location is great, right off the 401 highway, so its easy to find. Feedback from our guests was also very positive. Washrooms were amazingly clean. I would not hesitate coming back..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billie-Anne A, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent experience at the Cambridge Hotel & Conference Centre on Trip Advisor! I am glad to hear that your meeting was successful and that our team was friendly and helpful. We also take great pride in the cleanliness of our entire hotel and it is always nice to hear when our diligence is noticed and appreciated by our guests! Hearing that you had a positive experience at the Cambridge Hotel makes what we do on a day-to-day basis worthwhile, so thanks again for your comments! We hope to see you at the hotel again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed this hotel on a business trip. Hotel was easy to find as it is right off the highway but no so close that it disturbs your sleep. Service at front desk was great. Check-in was easy. Room was large with two queen beds and good natural light too. Refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker were in the room. Very clean and big bathroom. Breakfasts were provided with my conference but my family enjoyed the scrambled eggs and toast each morning. Individual costs of these items were cheaper than the buffet price. We had supper in the restaurant twice and I enjoyed both. The hotel was not full at the time as it was mid-week and I did notice that it got busier by Friday. Shopping is across the street and mall is down the same street so easy to get to. There is no pool at this hotel. Not a problem for me but if you're bringing your family you might be looking for one. All in all I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billie-Anne A, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review of the Cambridge Hotel & Conference Centre! I am so happy you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner in The Bruce Restaurant and found the rooms to be clean and spacious. I have to agree that our location is definitely one of the many highlights of our hotel - with the Smart Centre outlet shopping within walking distance and the Cambridge Centre Mall less than a 5 minute drive down the street it is easy to find something to do around here!

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This an independently run hotel not affiliated with any hotel group. The weekend we stayed it there was some huge convention and the hotel was almost fully booked. We had 3 meals at the restaurant and the service was inconsistent due to the high volume of people at the hotel.

The hotel looked to be well upkept at the lobby level. Rooms are also the same. However, we found that our bathroom tub did not appear to be cleaned very well - very disappointing. We also asked for 4 extra pillows and were told that we could only have 2. Again maybe due to the high volume of people staying at the hotel that weekend, there were inconsistencies at this property.

There is a small exercise room at the lower level of the hotel. Unfortunately, there is no indoor pool.

Our standard room had a small fridge and microwave - nice additions to standard rooms. Unfortunately, the duct tape placed around the heating/air conditioning unit degraded the upscale feel of the room. Beds were comfy and the rest of the decor, furniture gave the standard room an above average look and feel for a standard room.

The almost sold out weekend of my stay probably caused the inconsistencies in service, friendliness and cleanliness. The hotel should have had more staff come in to accommodate the high volume, as I will most likely not stay at this property again when I am looking for accommodations in the tri-county area.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with odd numbers as those rooms do not face the main road (odd number rooms shoul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billie-Anne A, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I would like to begin by saying thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre in such detail. We are always eager to hear feedback from our guests, whether is be positive or constructive. We use all guest comments to help us improve our product and level of service and your comment has pointed out specific areas where we can do just that!

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed certain aspects of our hotel. We have recently upgraded our bedding and added fridges and microwaves to all of our standard rooms and it is good to know that these updates are being noticed and appreciated by our guests.

I am very sorry that you felt our level of service, cleanliness and friendliness was inconsistent. Our goal is to deliver the highest level of service to everyone one of our guests no matter what our business levels are, and it appears that we failed to deliver in some areas over that busy weekend. I can promise you that all of your concerns have been addressed by me personally and actions have been taken to improve our guest’s experience.

Thank you once more for reviewing the Cambridge Hotel, and we do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge ON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Because of a recent house fire, my insurance company have put me up at this hotel on a long term basis. Staying in one place for a long time, gives one the chance for a considered opinion of the hotel.

I have nothing but positive things to say really. Every staff member is helpful, courteous, patient, and responsive. Nothing is too much trouble and one gets the very strong feeling that none of this is forced. They are clearly well trained, but seem happy in their jobs, and are too genuinely attentive for this merely to be company policy. The staff obviously seem to like their work in be in the right field of endeavor

My room is always spotlessly clean, and tidy, and this is not easy considering the fact that since I am staying long term and run a business, I tend to have lots of papers around. Things are not disturbed, and yet the staff are able to work around it.

For the typical traveller too the location is excellent just a few hundred metres from 401.

Very occasionally late on a Saturday evening after a happy wedding party or a sporting event there can be faint sounds heard...but after all this is a place of business and not a morgue. Staff are also very concerned and keep a close reign on things at busy times. They are ever vigilant as well as always helpful.

Nobody wants to be unable to live at home, but frankly I feel very fortunate to have been put up and such a well run hotel.

It is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Booked a Valentines package here in February and had a fantastic time with my husband. Very kind and attentive staff- they called up to our room within 5 minutes of check-in to ask how everything was. My husband said it would be nice to have a bathrobe, and poof- they appeared at our door 5 minutes later.
Dinner at the Bruce was delicious, and our server was very sweet and professional, we wanted for nothing.
The room was clean and well-appointed and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on in a hotel.
We live in town, so this was just a "stay-cation" for the weekend, but if you happen to be passing through, it is in a very convenient, central location, right off the highway and easy access to other things in town. There are plenty of restaurants and things nearby if you choose not to eat at the hotel, but we've also had Mother's Day brunch at The Bruce, and it is A-Mazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billie-Anne A, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for making the Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre your destination of choice for your “staycation”! I am thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy our Romance package to the fullest and that you found our staff to be attentive and kind. It is also great to hear you were impressed by our food and service at The Bruce Restaurant and Lounge - I completely agree that our Brunch is A-Mazing! We hope to see you at The Bruce again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pre-booked the one-week stay through Hotel.com and check-in and check-out was flawless. Hotel offers 15% discount vouchers for the attached restaurant, The Bruce (http://bit.ly/12qybRr) and we enjoyed all-you-eat Fish & Chips on Friday evening. Rooms were well-kept and cleaning staff was attentive. We tipped our Room Attendant for her attention to our room as our way of saying thanks. Other than the elevator's interiors, which need some cosmetic attention soon, the Cambridge Hotel & Conference Centre met our needs perfectly.

Room Tip: For a quieter sleep, choose the south side of the building. We moved after 2 nights, but there was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billie-Anne A, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a flattering review of our hotel! It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed the all-you-can eat Fish & Chips at The Bruce Restaurant and Lounge on Friday, it is certainly a favorite feature of ours! We also take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and always appreciate hearing when our guests are impressed, so thanks! We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and restaurant soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 700 Hespeler Road | Highway #24, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 5L8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel And Conference Centre Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.