We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar area and fabulous oysters!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Mill Restaurant

Cambridge Mill Restaurant
130 Water Street North, Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
519-624-1828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cambridge Mill Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 266 restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Cambridge, ON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great bar area and fabulous oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I generally go to enjoy the oysters and mussels which are superb! The bar is cozy and the service is pleasant and attentive. The 100 mile greens are also fabulous and I highly suggest them as well. You don't need reservations to eat in the bar area and while you don't get the view - I prefer it's ambience to the restaurant or terrace.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    118
    48
    41
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Avoid the Terrace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We decided on a Saturday night date at the Cambridge Mill Restaurant. While the food was excellent and the service friendly and attentive, the noise and "traffic" in the "terrace" room, where we were seated was distracting and disappointing. There is hardly anything to absorb the noise in this room of hard surfaces. The floor has a type of deck tiles that shift slightly each time anyone steps on them. One leg of my chair was one that was in a main "traffic lane" of the room. Each time anyone stepped on this tile my chair moved. The traffic was significant with many children at large parties in the room and "visiting" guests from special events upstairs coming in for a view.IF we return we will ask for a table in the dining room.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge ont.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Watch your credit card charge!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Fourth Sunday Brunch visit. Easter brunch was same as usual except they charged more. Ran out of many things...long wait to get more.
BUT final blow.....
When I reserved I had to leave a credit card number and was assured it would not be used. Yesterday we found a $100. Charge on the card. Called them of course, young woman I spoke to said she would have the manager call me.....nothing yet,
SO BEWARE

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Classy; best restaurant vista in Waterloo Region”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My first visit to this restaurant was for lunch with friends February 16. I definitely want to go back.
This restaurant has the best vista by far in all of Waterloo Region.

First impressions: service comes to mind.

The restaurant and views are stunning. Food was very good.

The only thing that stuck out was observations about service.
We had lunch reservations for when the restaurant opens on Saturday. Not sure if they were actually restaurant staff, but it looked like staff were occupying the table with the best view in the restaurant from the time we sat down to the time we finished.
Our server was very friendly but the whole service experience seemed a little clunky.
I certainly didn't experience any of the service problems that others want to whine about though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stylish, Delicious with an incredible view~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have had the pleasure of visiting the newly renovated Cambridge Mill, on several occasions.
I have always been delighted walking up the stairs, and entering to a welcoming smile.
A hostess is always waiting, professional, and provides a lovely start.
I have visited with children, friends, and family- and always been seated quickly, given attention and respect. Mac 'n Cheese for the kids, is always requested- for only 7.00$
The food - is, incredible. We LOVE the oysters, and cannot stop at only a dozen.
Served fast, on the half shell, with fresh horseradish, hot sauce, lemon, vinaigrette..
The view at the bump-out of the dam is stunning, floor to ceiling windows!
So pleasant and so lovely:
We will definitely continue to visit!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambridge Mill Restaurant also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Cambridge Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Mill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.