We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch and spa afternoon ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
1 Langdon Dr, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 4R8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
London, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lunch and spa afternoon ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Three colleagues joined me for lunch and an afternoon of 4 spa treatments. Lunch was beautifully presented and impeccably served under the shade of trees on the terrace. The spa itself is a little tired - something that will rectified shortly with the construction of a new building. The spa staff were excellent as were the treatments. A great place to share an afternoon with friends catching up in comfort.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    42
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
139
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Simply the perfect location for a Christmas getaway. The roaring fires in the Hall and the rooms act as the perfect counterbalance to the crisp snowscape outside. The cuisine is superb and the staff are attentive without being cloying.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We visited Langdon Hall with my husband's parents for Sunday Brunch. We were celebrating my in-laws' anniversary and it was a lovely experience. The service was very professional and the food was elegant and tasty. Brunch and tip (no alcohol) for 4 people cost $350.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A friend and I booked full spa day packages for ourselves and a soon-to-be married friend for her bachelorette. We told her we'd be going to the spa, but kept the location a secret, right up until the time we were coming up the drive!

I had been to LH years ago for a private dinner party, but had never indulged in any of their spa services. Upon our arrival, we were greeted in a friendly, professional manner and whisked off for a brief tour of the spa. We were each given our itinerary for the day (which would see us coming together for lunch and our manis and pedis) and invited to put on one of their plush robes - a pair of flip flops was also provided.

In my estimation, the full day spa package is priced fairly at $400, based on the expertise and professionalism of the staff, quality of the products used and the spectacular location. Lunch (included in our package) was delicious, too! We each had the choice of an appetizer and main course, and each dish was prepared and served with great care.

The facial was probably the nicest, most relaxing ones I've ever had (I'm sure I dozed off for a few minutes in there....). And where else can you sip on a glass of wine (their Langdon Tawse chardonnay is excellent) while getting your toes done?!

The only thing I regret about the day is not arranging for a dining/accommodation/spa package so we could stay overnight, because that would have really been the icing on the cake. Maybe another time.... :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We have been to Langdon Hall many times but this was our first time back since the new chef took over last fall. We were so happy with the food that I decided to do another review. We attended the first barbecue of the season. The barbecue series is always well done, but the food was particularly good this time. Everything was fresh and local and delicious, especially the clam bake! It was a perfect evening, with great food, great wine and a beautiful setting. Langdon Hall is in good hands with Chef Bangerter!
Our only disappointment was the state of the veggie garden. We always spend time in the garden, and usually leave with garden envy. This time we left feeling that the garden has been neglected. What a shame, it is such a special part of Langdon Hall.


Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great hotel with amazing grounds - access to bikes, walking trails, tennis, pool. Apparently in the winter, they turn the tennis courts into an ice rink. Food is incredible and they have epic BBQs so if they have one when you're, be sure to book - they sell out fast as they bring in star chefs from other restaurants. Service was lacking when it came to food - dinner took over 3 hours because they had a wedding but this place has a lot of weddings so they should be able to plan for the extra people. Pool service was horrible but not a big deal - on a couple of the days, no one showed up to handle pool service until around 2pm but only because there was going to be a small revolt. They also kept getting the order wrong. Pool area is beautiful and we spent a lot of time there. Overall, a great stay.

Room Tip: Cloister rooms are awesome and very large. No need for anything more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We just returned from a lovely weekend at Langdon Hall. We enjoyed a lovely, quiet and private room with its own terrace. It also had a fireplace, although we didn't need it given the beautiful summer weather. We did enjoy sitting by the pool, massages in the spa and a wonderful gourmet dinner. But the special treats were the wine tasting hosted by the sommelier and the cooking demo hosted by Chef Lecky. Both were very pleasant and entertaining, despite their busy schedules. It was our first visit, but we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Langdon Dr, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 4R8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langdon Hall offers a quiet and peaceful environment best suited for romantic get-aways that require an elegant setting. As a member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux association, the property prides itself on creating a unique experience brimming with all the charm, character, cuisine, calm and courtesy you would find at the finest Relais & Chateaux property. Located one hour west of Toronto, Langdon Hall was built as a magnificent summer home in 1898 for the granddaughter of John Jacob Astor of New York City, a gentlemen who made his fortune in several areas of business including the Waldorf Astoria, the greatest hotel of its era. In 1987 Langdon Hall began its transformation into a hotel and now offers 52 guest suites, a full service spa, the only five-diamond award wining restaurant in Ontario. In addition to the main dining room the property features a casual bar and private dining rooms featuring wood-burning fireplaces, and 75 acres of expansive gardens and trails. For the last three years the readers of Condé Nast Traveller selected Langdon Hall as the Number one hotel in Canada. Nearby amenities include championship style golf course, canoeing, theatre, horseback riding, biking and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel And Spa
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country Hotel
Langdon Hall Country Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa Cambridge, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.