We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy pub in downtown Burlington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Poacher

The Poacher
436 Pearl St, Burlington, Ontario, Canada
905 639 6291
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 365 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: British, English, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Cozy pub in downtown Burlington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This pub has exceptional pub fare and an extensive selection of scotches. The ambiance is cozy and bright. It is low key and quiet; perfect for getting together with friends and chatting. It is my new favourite pub in Burlington. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fast & Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I went for a business luncheon. The menu was typical for a pub and prices were reasonable.

The service was quick and the waitress was extremely friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Try the Poacher Burger...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Let me start by explaining that the Poacher sponsored my soccer team for over a decade, so I know this place very well. This is a pub so don't expect any fancy fair but the place makes a wonderful burger and is not expensive. The atmosphere is wonderful for spending time with friends or just grabbing pint. The Poacher is a Burlington Classic that has been around since I can remember. Enjoy.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went here with a couple of friends and sat outside on the patio. Very good selection of draught beer. I had the Shepard's pie which was delicious. We were served by Caitlin. Very friendly server. If you get her as your server, ask her how her bagpipe playing is going. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Typical English Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Had seen the good reviews but was a little disappointed. The service was very good and the food ok. Burger was homemade but overcooked ... Dry. Our friend enjoyed her steak and kidney pie. Said it was excellent although to me it didn't look very appetizing. My wife had the mushroom soup that had too much tyme and was lumpy ... Pretty disgusting green conjunction. The patio is nice but at one end it is standing room only with smokers. It is obviously a "local" for many in the area. It is a reasonably proved English pub... What people want. I just thought the food could have been a bit better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poacher also viewed

Burlington, Ontario
Burlington, Ontario
 
Burlington, Ontario
Burlington, Ontario
 

Been to The Poacher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Poacher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.