We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright Thai food that's pretty consistent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Dish

Siam Dish
6 - 1477 Lakeshore Rd., Burlington, Ontario L7S 1B5, Canada
905.632.2525
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 365 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Canada
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Alright Thai food that's pretty consistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you're looking for some dependable Thai food, don't hesitate to visit Siam Dish. The food is ok but the view is excellent. You won't break the bank eating here and the staff are very friendly. I've been several times since its close to family and will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“See outside... Stay outside... Don't go in... Noooooooooo!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The best thing about this restaurant is the view. So don't go in, stay outside. I ordered the appetizer assortment. I'm not sure how you go wrong with calamari (overcooked, doughy and chewy), noodle covered tiger shrimp (unoriginal and bland), spring roll (try frozen in the grocery store... it tastes better), chicken satay (dry and bland), fresh spring roll (bland, bland, bland)... :(
Go if you really want to enjoy the view and like to eat and waste money on fast food/frozen food quality items. Don't bother if you have taste.... grab a gelato from next door and walk the Lakeshore if you want views...
I liked the iced tea.... :D

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Take-Out for Family Night in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After a tough day, when you have last minute visitors, on Family Night... you name it - THIS is the place to order take-out from. The food is always delicious, and always right. Chicken Panang and Garlic Chicken are ridiculous delicious. The rice paper spring rolls have little to no flavour (or the sauce), that would be my only complaint. Everything else we have tried... amazing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Will Not Visit Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have never been huge fans of this restaurant - with it's prime downtown location it will not succeed as it stands. The food has always been mediocre but as long as the service was there it was an ok place for lunch. We went for dinner last night and they had one waitress on. She was hostess, bartender, waitress and bus person all rolled into one. AND she was answering the phone for take-out orders. The restaurant only had 8 people in it when we arrived. She never took our drink order, instead came back after 10 minutes and wanted our WHOLE order. My wine had a film on it and there's no way it was the brand on the menu. But we only saw her again once, when she plopped out plates on the table and took off. She never made eye contact and was reduced to running through the restaurant with her eyes on the floor so no customers could try and get her attention. About 12 more people had come in after we started eating. I left the restaurant and my husband had to go up to the bar and pay the bill - as our dishes were never cleared and the bill never presented. She then told my husband the owners had cut back on staff as a cost saving measure. Surely they could send someone out from the kitchen to bus the tables? Or have one of the owners answer the phone? And this time, the food was terrible. Only a tiny amount of thin sauce on the curry pad thai and a few, cheap vegetables. It was like eating plain pasta - no sauce on the noodles at all. Worst Thai food I've ever eaten. We will never go back to this place which is a shame - it has such a prime location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Goos Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We always find the service good, the dishes tasty and good value. The location is good right at the waterfront. I would recommend it for Thai food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Dish also viewed

Burlington, Ontario
 
Burlington, Ontario
 

Been to Siam Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Dish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.