We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wickie's Pub & Restaurant

Wickie's Pub & Restaurant
274 Burton Ave, Barrie, Ontario, Canada
(705) 725-0630
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 397 Restaurants in Barrie
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Barrie, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A place you can sit in a quiet corner or watch the Game with friends at the Bar. In the backroom 4 pool tables and 2 dart boards makes it a fun place to while away an afternoon. Friendly staff, great Pub Fare. Great Wings. If you like hot wings i dare you to order the "Tomicide".
Cheers !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great local bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place isn't the fanciest, but the staff is always friendly and funny. The food, which is bar food, is good, its bar food not the Keg, the wings which are usually half price in the evening is a go to favorite of mine. If you are feeling brave, try the Tomicide wing sauce and see if you can handle it. They have lots of space, many pool tables in the back and an outdoor patio. If you want a local place where the music doesn't drown everyone out and everyone in is friendly, go here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“needs an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have been there twice in the last 2 weeks, it's become, just ok! I've been going for years but feel a little let down now. The food is expensive for bar food, items come out in plastic containers now, it was a little dirty and the service lately has not been coming with "a smile". Actually heard 2 servers talking about guests last week when I was there, didn't think anyone heard, careful people, there are a lot of pubs in Barrie!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Pyrmont, Germany
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The ambience is obviously pub style with the décor and dart boards over our heads. It was early afternoon and quiet when four of us had a lunch. They had wings on offer and they were good. We had one order of fish and chips and the fish was a little too heavily battered. The Reuben sandwich was good and tasty but the burger was salty and dry and the chips which came with it were soggy. The service was very friendly. This doesn't seem to be the best place for just something to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Local, Good Fish and Chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a friendly local pub with good fish a chip special during the week. The price is right and the beer I had was cold and fresh. The fish and chips which I specifically went for was a great price (under ten dollars form 11 am to 3 pm). The atmosphere was average during the day, I have never been in the evening but a group of men were enjoying some companionship and seemed to know the friendly staff quite well. I would take friends here any time for the fish and chips during the day. There is a separate billiards area which I did not investigate. The staff I encountered were friendly and very helpful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wickie's Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wickie's Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wickie's Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.