We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't like Sushi but I love Monsoons!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monsoon Lounge & Sushi

Monsoon Lounge & Sushi
140 Dunlop St. E., Barrie, Ontario L4M 6H9, Canada
+1 705-812-2519
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 386 Restaurants in Barrie
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I don't like Sushi but I love Monsoons!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

There is a roll for every eater at Monsoons, even me...who doesn't like sushi. The food tastes so fresh and I could come here every week. My favorite is Monsoon Saishoku with the smoked gouda. Fiesta, chicken pad thai roll , Margaritaville Maki all amazing. We love the lettuce wraps (however a little more chicken would be good!) and my husband the miso soup which was different than your standard miso soup. Spicy - he loved it! If you like martinis, this is the place to come. Atmospheres is comfortable and classy. They often have live music on the weekends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Horrible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My first time there. I just moved up from Toronto. When I had asked my girlfriend to use the washroom the manager overheard and responded by telling me there was a snow bank outside on the right. This was in front of a row of other customers. I confronted the manager to tell him how offended I was. He apologized with a smirk on his face. Never have I been so offended. Never will I recommend this place to anyone that comes to visit.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“i like my martini dirty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I went with a couple friends for Martini's and Sushi. Great experience, my wife has been here numerous times but this was only my second visit. Our server was fantastic, professional and curteous (what more could you ask for) The martini's were fantastic and the sushi was amazing (try the chicken curry sushi).

The leather seats, and lounge like feel made it a place that we will return to again very soon.

But really, don't go there, we don't want it to get to busy because then we'll have to wait a long time for a seat.

Victor

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We recently had a christmas get together at the Mosoons in downtown Barrie....the food they provided was very good and I was so amazed that they could produce such great sushi in what has to be the tiniest kitchen in the world!!!!!They must have a very good chef!!
The mixed drinked drinks and Martinis were also well done...by two very professioal bar staff....who took very good care of us all...so thanks...and we will go back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Leather and Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

This place ROCKS! The combination of leather chairs, upscale clientele and fantastic Sushi makes this my new favorite lounge. The martini's are awesome and the service is impecable. It is nice to see a bar/lounge in the city that is not over run with the college kids, I think the price point of the place keeps them out.

Well done Monsoon lounge, we will be back for many a return visit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Lounge & Sushi also viewed

 
Barrie, Ontario
Barrie, Ontario
 

Been to Monsoon Lounge & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monsoon Lounge & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.