We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moxie's has it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moxie's Classic Grill

Moxie's Classic Grill
509 Bayfield Street, Barrie, Ontario L4M4Z8, Canada (Bayfield)
(705) 733-5252
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 389 Restaurants in Barrie
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bayfield
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Moxie's has it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went to lunch with a friend and couldn't have enjoyed it more.
The food was wonderful and the staff knowledgeable.
Only downside I guess was price......50 for 2 for lunch?....gotta love gift certificates!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    42
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellyb1
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Seating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Went there for dinner to meet another couple who were also in cottage country for the week and figured this was about halfway.
What a pleasant surprise. I have been to moxie's in Toronto, and the atmosphere here is much better.
We sat outside on their beautiful patio that is modern and has a glass wall blocking traffic noise.
We had 4 appetizers to share.
Dry ribs, Ahi tuna crisps, calamari and sweet potato fries. All were very good.
Two of us had the best roast beef dip we have had for ages and one had a kale salad and one a lobster special pasta. Everything was delicious.
The service was also top notch, so all in all I would highly recommend this location of Moxies, even though I am not a fan of box chain restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A great place to meet your friends for a drink and food. Met my friends there for a birthday party and the drinks just kept coming all night. The food was delicious and the wait staff are cool!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“CUSTOMER SERVICE WIN!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We go to Moxie's a few times per win. The food is quite dependable, so it isn't much of a gamble. What made this last outing worth mentioning was the Customer Service. We went on a busy Saturday night with all the kids in tow. They gave us a premium table and didn't hurry or rush us out the door. The Server was patient and kind to our children. The chef actually came to our table to ensure we liked all our food. When he asked our 3 year old why she didn't eat her pizza, she just said "it's yucky". I explained that she had been a little over-exuberant with the salt shaker. The chef said he'd quickly make her another. We said it wasn't necessary as she was picking at everyone else's plate. Chef insisted she needed more of her own food, so he kept bringing her little servings of many things!

It can be so stressful taking your children out to eat.... especially on a "busy" night for the more popular restaurants. They made us feel like we were the only people there that mattered. I don't ever remember restaurant staff going so above and beyond for our family (in Canada).

WELL DONE!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good date night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you are looking for a nicer restaurant in Barrie but dont feel like going to the Keg, Moxies is for you. It is great for dates, family functions, or just to grab some quick food. Nice atmosphere and the price reflects it. Good service and very tasty food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moxie's Classic Grill also viewed

 

Been to Moxie's Classic Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moxie's Classic Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.