We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job in a pinch.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Tower Motel

Save Saved
You added White Tower Motel to your Saves list
White Tower Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Tower Motel
120 Donald Street, Barrie, Ontario, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 18 hotels in Barrie
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Did the job in a pinch.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed at the White Tower during Kempemfest in August long weekend as my usual choice of downtown hotel The Howard Johnsons on Dunlop was full.
I was lucky to get a room on this busy weekend because some people cancelled pre-booked stays probably because of rainy weather.
Anyway while the exterior and the interior of hotel looked pretty beat up and well worn the room was a good size and there are lots of shopping near hotel.
I would stay here again if I find myself desperate for a hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
2
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
barrie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

my wife and i have been staying at the white towers for quite a while now on a weekly stay package due to work. i cant understand the various complaints from most reviwers here.. exspecially the value for the buck you recieve for the room. other reviwers must be used to the hilton at 200 a day or something. both me and my wife have enjoyed the room so far because of the value on weekly rate, the cleaning staff and office staff are very eaasy to get along with. as per the clientell that we have seen so far are mixed from lawyers construction workers and famillys all in the same. some unsavery characters can give a establishment a bad name for no reason, but this can happen at ANY establishment. i personally have stayed at motel hotel and b/bs around the country ranging from 75-200 a night depending on what i need at the time. and have found drunks druggies hookers and ruffiants at many places.ITis all in the way the situation is handles that makes the difference. dont try acting out and causing a problem at the white towers or management will deal with you quickly and efficaitelly even if it means involving local barrie police when needed. i feel safe and comfortable here and will tell everyone i know and on here what i feel about other reviwers opinions so far. i do recommed the white towers to other just because of its ease of access to highway 400 the downtown and all things close in barrie. the value is great and the cleaning staff tries their bset to keep up with the older but stable facilitys WHICH i have seen being slowlly and propperlly updated over the last month i have stayed here. SO far. THE owners are trying to keep up a business and build a better motel while the rooms are not occupied. but from what i have seen so far the rooms are occupied ALOT. renovations take time and patience and i have seen personally the work being done to improve the building everyday. if you want to complain go ahead and speak your mind, but i have a feeling that a few complaints on here are the ones removed from the property due to misbehavior or arnt the type of individuals whom normally stay at a lower priced establishment. i keep saying for the value you pay the white towers is a great bang for your buck. i just cant wait untill all the repaires and renos are done just to see what happens when the rates go up and peole get upset because now it costs more to stay at the wtm where it has always been the CHEAPEST in barrie, yake care all and i hope this review hits home for somne out there looking for great value and comfort at a low price

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAUGHAN, ONTARIO
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Checked in, took one look at room & marched right back to check in desk, room was disgustingly dirty with ruffled bed, shady character standing in hall & shouting coming from other rooms.. whole placed stunk badly of smoke & urine.. lady at desk showed me a different room on ground level but it wasn't much better! I asked for a refund but was refused! This place is rented by drug addicts & prostitutes.. a disgusting mess & a disgrace to the great city of Barrie. This dump needs to be shut down! I

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmvale, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed here with some friends as it was the only place in Barrie available on a Saturday night. We were going out for a night out and figured that for one night it would do. To our surprise we were mortified at the apperance of the motel. We walked in and there was blood all over the carpet. It looked like feces was stained on the sheets and the smell of the room was attrocious. It smelled like a mixture of dried cat urine and baby puke. I would rather sleep downtown Barrie then here ! It would be more safe as well ! As soon as we saw the room we left and figured we would rather sprend 100 dollars on a cab ride to sleep at home then in this motel. I wouldnt even call it a motel more like a dumpster. Next door we also heard a loud banging noise and it turned out there was 4 crack heads next door ! This "motel" is for crack heads looking for a place to live. I would also reccommend it for families ..... Not !! This place is a dump and I am surprised it is not closed down due to health concerns. If you are staying here .... beware.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas, Canarias, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

It wasn't to terrible, but considering the alcohol consumed. The place was disgusting. There was lipstick on the bed sheets, the air condition was dented in, the doors wouldn't lock properly, the room didn't look good in general. The numbers on the door were even falling off, we had one out of two. The towels were not the same color they were new, as well as the remote for the television not working. I recommend this place for prostitutes or drug dealers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Not the best place in barrie to stay for a night. Its right off the hwy exit and makes for a preferrable location but the rooms are not very good. It was not until I discovered another hotel just down the road, I stopped coming to White towers. Stay at your own experience and good luck

Room Tip: stay at your own risk
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

My boyfriend and I needed a place to stay for a few days prior to moving back to Niagara. As students, we decided on the White Towers Motel because the owner offered us a decent rate for the multiple nights we'd be staying. almost immediately, we noticed that the door to our room didn't properly lock, but didn't think too much of it. It was only a few nights, what could possibly happen? At work, my girlfriends warned me against staying there - apparently the place is notorious for crack and prostitution and other such pleasant things. They begged me to stay with them instead, but I had already paid and moved my stuff in so i didn't bother. again, what could possibly happen? So one day I get off work early and was checking my emails in the room. I hear a yelling match outside between a woman and a man, thinking nothing of it. Then, the woman starts making weird grunting noises (watch The Exorcist). All I hear is banging and her screaming nonsense. So I text my boyfriend who is at work because I'm creeped out at this point, especially when I hear the doorknob being jiggled. I start to get up to get my shoes on and go for a drive when the door comes crashing open and a half-naked, bald woman stumbles in. I obviously freak out and lock myself in the washroom. She starts trying to get me out, all the while talking nonsense to herself. I start screaming for help and banging on the walls because the office was right next door to my room. I didn't have my cell with me because I panicked and ran in without it when the door flew open. No one came over to help me. I screamed and cried for forty minutes while she cursed at me and tried to get into the bathroom. I thought of crawling out through the window but decided to stay pressed between the bathtub and the door so she couldn't break in after me. Finally, the cops arrive because there were complaints of 'a naked woman among the snowbanks'. I come out shaking and terrified. The motel owner didn't even bother telling the police I was in there - I could've been stabbed and passed out in there and no one would've known, all they were told was that she was in room 15. The police informed me that she was a drugged up prostitute that they dealt with often and she would be locked up in the hospital for a few days. They called my boyfriend at work to let him know what happened because I was too shaken to do anything at this point. When he came by, he questioned the motel owner why he didn't come to my rescue, at least getting the psycho out of my room. Most people I know would try to intervene if they saw a 100 lb girl barracaded in a washroom while a naked crackhead threatened her from the other side of a door. The motel owner said he didn't want to get involved. Whatever. Then, instead of refunding us, he offered to get us another room for our last night because she peed on the bed in our's. We obviously refused to stay another night and it was a huge struggle to get our money back for that. My boyfriend kept trying to reason with the guy. He finally decided to give us $10 extra to pay for our dry cleaning because she was laying on my jacket when the cops finally arrived. And all this time we were super nice to him. Our heating would only work if he fiddled with the furnace, so a couple times a day we had to get him to take care of that for us. I felt bad bothering him, even though heat is a basic necessity, so we bought him a big container of Gummi Worms as a thank you. His idea of thank you was allowing me to experience the most traumatic event of my life and telling us to get out when we asked to be refunded. I'm pretty sure it's not a lot to ask for after my room was broken into and I was threatened....

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Tower Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Tower Motel

Address: 120 Donald Street, Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your White Tower Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Tower Motel Barrie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Tower Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.