We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moose Winooskis

Moose Winooskis
407 Bayfield St., Barrie, Ontario L4M 6E5, Canada (Bayfield)
+1 705-727-0077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 397 Restaurants in Barrie
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Canadian, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Bayfield
Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Good restaurant with friendly staff. Menu is simple with good choices and reasonably priced. Food was good and served within a good time and warm/hot.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    29
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mix Up A Little Disappointing...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We meet with our son, who we hadn't seen since we moved out of this area. On the whole, our dinners were good but our son's order was messed up. He had ordered a steak dinner and received someone else's steak sandwich. He didn't want to wait until they cooked another one, so he ate it anyway. The server offered to have his order redone but we declined at that point. It was not the server's fault it was the person who brought it to our table. In the end the server packaged up the steak he was supposed to receive to take home and only charged for the steak sandwich. She tried and it was appreciated.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun place with decent "roadhouse" menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stopped for lunch on our way back home. This is a fun, family place. The decor is kinda like a hunting lodge with comedy moose heads on the walls along with other outdoor stuff.

The menu has the usual steaks, burgers, wings, etc. so everyone should be able to find something they like.

Our server was super friendly and attentive. I had chicken fingers with medium sauce and fries. They were hot and tasty, so what is not to like?

I recommend this chain for a casual meal or a special family occasion.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Pauline was fun and friendly the best server I ever had and been to the moose a lot if you go there ask for Pauline you'll have great service and fun

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Varied Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

While visiting my son and his family in Barrie we dropped into the Barrie Moose Winooskis for lunch. What can I say it was a Moose Winooskis. We have visited this chain in other cities and have always been satisfied with both the food and service. Unfortunately we do not have one in our home town of Kingston Ontario. We ordered and shared a variety of foods, ribs, wings, chicken fingers, wraps and one my favourites pulled pork poutine. The service was both accommodating and friendly. They managed to seat all eight of us at one large table. It was noisy as it usually is in this chain, but what the heck, the food is worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moose Winooskis also viewed

 

Been to Moose Winooskis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moose Winooskis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.